AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
RJK42
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 1 of 4 (410 Views)
Accepted Solution

Annotating defined blocks

410 Views, 3 Replies
08-29-2012 08:42 AM

I am trying to draw up a circuit in a drawing by using the defined duplex given in AutoCAD MEP.  When I insert a duplex, the size is a tiny spec.  How do I annotate the block that is already pre-defined in MEP?  Below is a picture of how it looks once I insert the duplex.  The drawing is scaled to 1/8" = 1'-0"

 

 

The duplex is in the number 6

 

 

Thanks!!

 

 

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 2 of 4 (394 Views)

Re: Annotating defined blocks

08-31-2012 09:06 AM in reply to: RJK42

Your display is set to "Standard" in the bottom right corner.  That is often an indicator that you are using a drawing started from a Core AutoCAD template.  The MEP default template is: "Aecb Model (US Imperial CTB).dwt" and has a default display called "MEP Design."  We should see MEP Design or other MEP display in bottom right corner.  With a drawing started from an MEP template, and an MEP display, the device annotative block should be about the same size as the text.

 

You could switch to model space.  Ctrl +A to select All.  Ctrl +C to copy all to clipboard.  Start a new drawing from the MEP template.  Ctrl +V to paste all to the new drawing.  Use 0,0 when asked for the insertion point.  The device may start behaving annotatively and scale properly.

 

Hope this helps,

Joshua



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 3 of 4 (370 Views)

Re: Annotating defined blocks

09-05-2012 01:46 PM in reply to: Joshua.Benoist

Wanted to follow up and see if the above helped.

 

Joshua

 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
RJK42
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 4 of 4 (354 Views)

Re: Annotating defined blocks

09-06-2012 09:35 PM in reply to: Joshua.Benoist

Yes, everything worked. Thanks

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community