AutoCAD Land Desktop

Reply
New Member
cheeterrr
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 1 of 17 (4,085 Views)

LDD Companion 2007 errors running on Win 7 64

4085 Views, 16 Replies
05-26-2010 07:57 AM
I am building a new PC for a user and he needs to have the CIVIL 3D - LAND DESKTOP COMPANION working on it.

The computer is an Intel I7 CPU with 8 Gig RAM and an Nvidia Quadro FX 1800 running Windows 7 Pro 64 fully patched.

I've done the install but when the software is run I am getting error messages and no the some menus are not opening.

He has the new version of the LAND DESKTOP COMPANION but he needs to have the 2007 version running for a few reasons. There are projects that are in the middle of being worked on that were started in 2007. The other big reason is that it's been 3 years since the last major update of software and there is a big learning curve. Projects need to get done so there isn't time to train on the latest version so they need to stick with 2007 for a while.

He also needs to run Windows 7 64 instead of Windows XP 64 because of directory issues with our NAS.

Here are some errors when it first loads up:

Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: LAND
Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: ACAD
Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: CIVILDESIGN
Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: SURVEY
Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: EXPRESS
Regenerating model.
Initializing....
....
C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk Land Desktop 2007\AcMapWorkspace.arx cannot
find a dll or other file that it needs.
.Failed.
AcMapWorkspace.arx Load Failed
C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk Land Desktop 2007\AecCMapCogoCmds50.arx cannot
find a dll or other file that it needs.
AutoCAD Express Tools Copyright © 2002-2004 Autodesk, Inc.
AutoCAD menu utilities loaded.
AutoCAD menu utilities loaded.
C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk Land Desktop 2007\aeccapp50.arx cannot find a
dll or other file that it needs.
; error: ARXLOAD failed
Command: COMMANDLINE

Does anyone know how I might be able to fix the issue so things will work on the new machine?

Thanks for any help.

Darren.
Valued Contributor
capt.crayola
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 2 of 17 (4,085 Views)

Re: LDD Companion 2007 errors running on Win 7 64

05-26-2010 01:47 PM in reply to: cheeterrr
From what I've read - you need to install LDC in Vista Compatability mode.

check out the following blogs....

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/fi-FI/w7itproperf/thread/2a8bf6f7-f95c-4d59-a366-3e71bfc96874

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en/w7itproappcompat/thread/9050a6a0-2249-47e5-91a3-83378d2b1951


hope this helps
Sean

Dell Precision M6700 laptop
Intel Core i7-3740QM quad core 2.7Ghz with 16 GB Ram
NVidia K400M 2GB video, Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
New Member
cheeterrr
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 3 of 17 (4,085 Views)

Re: LDD Companion 2007 errors running on Win 7 64

05-27-2010 11:14 AM in reply to: cheeterrr
Thank you for the ideas. I wasn't able to get it working that way however I was able to install Windows XP as a virtual machine and get it working fine in that.

The user has a 2009 version of AutoCAD that I will install on Windows 7 so it should be fine. He was saying that the format from 2007 to 2009 is the same so they should be able to do what they need to. AutoCAD 2010 is a different format and would have been harder to work with. Since they have 9 they are good to go.

They actually need AutoCAD 2004 for some older systems they use so the Win XP virtual machine running in Windows 7 should work for that.

Thanks again.
Active Member
gvildys
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-16-2003
Message 4 of 17 (3,464 Views)

Re: LDD Companion 2007 errors running on Win 7 64

08-02-2011 01:34 PM in reply to: cheeterrr

Finally got LDD 2007 to work on Windows x64 (Windows7)

(go the ACMapWorkspace.arx error loading, etc. before)

 

Install DirectX 9.0c runtime

 

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=35

 

 

 I racked my brains to figure this one out. Worked on my laptop, but not the other CAD workstations.

 

Only difference is I had Microstation on my PC, which installs DirectX 9 as a prerequisite program.

 

Also edit the "acad.exe config" file to use only .Net v2.0.50727 otherwise Layer Manager can crash LDD

 

<configuration>
 <startup>
  <!--We always use the latest version of the framework installed on the computer. If you
are having problems then explicitly specify .NET 2.0 by uncommenting the following line.
  <supportedRuntime version="v2.0.50727"/>
-->
 <supportedRuntime version="v2.0.50727"/> 
 </startup>

<runtime><assemblyBinding xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1"><probing privatePath="Fdo\bin"/></assemblyBinding></runtime></configuration>

Contributor
briggleman
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-10-2003
Message 5 of 17 (3,414 Views)

Re: LDD Companion 2007 errors running on Win 7 64

08-23-2011 07:01 AM in reply to: gvildys

Same issue slightly different, I need to get LDD 2006 to run on a Windows 7 64bit system.  After install, same errors above.

 

Autocad runs but with little LDD functionality.  Again same errors.

 

 I will try the Directx 9.0c install and since 2006 uses dotnet 1.1 with sp1 (which I did install, that was fun too.....not) will I have to modify the acad.exe cfg file the same way except point to dotnet 1.1?????

 

Anyone manage to get LDD2006 to run on Windows 7 64bit????

 

Yes I know we need to upgrade but like other things in life, I cannot control this one.  Required for a contract with a govt. agency.... now you know!!!

Active Member
gvildys
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-16-2003
Message 6 of 17 (3,407 Views)

Re: LDD Companion 2007 errors running on Win 7 64

08-23-2011 08:30 AM in reply to: briggleman

The .NET has to do with Layer Manager in 2007 (which causes LDD to crash...fun) and anything else that uses .NET for the backend You probably need to change the acadexe config (if that exists there to use .NET v1.1.4322, not sure if it's the correct version or not).

 

The DirectX 9 had to do with all the arx issues.

Contributor
briggleman
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-10-2003
Message 7 of 17 (3,397 Views)

Re: LDD 2006 errors running on Win 7 64

08-24-2011 05:08 AM in reply to: gvildys

Just an update

Followed your recommendation and installed Directx9----no change

 

Then noticed that in AutoCAD under options everything pointed to C:\Program Files\.........

However when it was installed a directory called C:\Program Files (86)\..... was created and that is where the files were at.

 

So, revised all of the file paths in AutoCAD to point to that directory that had calls to "C:\Program Files\....." to C:\Program Files (86)

 

Most of the errors are gone

 
However still does not run LDD commands.   Still these errors.
 
C:\ADSK2006\LDT\Land\AecCmapCogoCmds46.arx is an invalid Arx file.
 
C:\ADSK2006\LDT\Land\Aeccapp46.arx is an invalid Arx file.
 
I have yet to direct it to use dotnet 1.1 ver. 1.1.4322  Which I will do when I get my hands on the laptop again.
 
Only had 15 minutes with it this morning before I had to let it go for other duties.



Contributor
briggleman
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-10-2003
Message 8 of 17 (3,385 Views)

Re: LDD 2006 errors running on Win 7 64

08-25-2011 05:25 AM in reply to: briggleman

Just an update

 

Did the edit of the acad.exe.config file to use only net 1.1--------------------------  NO CHANGE same errors as before.

 

C:\ADSK2006\LDT\Land\AecCmapCogoCmds46.arx is an invalid Arx file.
 
C:\ADSK2006\LDT\Land\Aeccapp46.arx is an invalid Arx file.
 
I saw a post about adding the location of the ac1st16.dll to enviromental variables.  I do not know how to do this.  I know its under My Computer and I see the varible listings.  Just have never added one before so I do not know the syntax.  Any Help???

 

Active Member
gvildys
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-16-2003
Message 9 of 17 (3,382 Views)

Re: LDD 2006 errors running on Win 7 64

08-25-2011 05:34 AM in reply to: briggleman

Back in the forums someone suggested this: (LDD 2006 seems like a real pain...2007 was a little better)

 

 

1. Check your support paths (in AutoCAD and in the SDSK.DFM file) - make sure there are no references to older paths (like from LDT2005)

2. This usually means there is something messed up with the current .NET install. Try running a repair on it.

Active Member
gvildys
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-16-2003
Message 10 of 17 (3,381 Views)

Re: LDD 2006 errors running on Win 7 64

08-25-2011 05:38 AM in reply to: briggleman

 This error can occur after reinstalling or uninstalling some Windows applications. The AC1ST16.DLL is probably not missing, only AutoCADcannot find it.

 

To set Windows environment variables, right-click on the 'My Computer' icon, select 'Properties'. In the 'System Properties' dialog, go to the 'Advanced' tab and click the 'Environment variables' button. You can modify the User- (for you) or System- (for all) variables.

 

Go to Windows System settings of your computer and in the Environment variables, make sure that the PATH variable contains the folder name C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Autodesk Shared (without the backslash at the end, you can remove it using the Edit button).

 

If the file is really missing, you have to reinstall or repair your AutoCAD installation.


You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community