AutoCAD LT General

Reply
Active Member
govacj
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-09-2011
Message 1 of 17 (366 Views)
Accepted Solution

help feature defaults to Autodesk Exchange online

366 Views, 16 Replies
08-09-2011 03:37 PM

I have AutoCadLT 2012 and is trying to use the help feature, but it keeps defaulting to the , Autodesk Exchange online. This is a company computer and its not setup to allow the feature. 

 

Is there an offline help feature?

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 17 (364 Views)

Re: help feature defaults to Autodesk Exchange online

08-09-2011 05:22 PM in reply to: govacj

Under OPTIONS in the attached screenshot. Is this where your porgram is pointing to for Help Location?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Active Member
govacj
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-09-2011
Message 3 of 17 (347 Views)

Re: help feature defaults to Autodesk Exchange online

08-10-2011 09:00 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

thanks for pointing me there.

 

But it's not clear as to how to make the change. The options on the right that, ADD, REMOVE or SET CURRENT, are there, but is not in function mode.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 4 of 17 (345 Views)

Re: help feature defaults to Autodesk Exchange online

08-10-2011 09:13 AM in reply to: govacj

Click on the File name and then click Browse on the right hand column.

From there you will be able to find the file if it is indeed not pointing to the right place currently.

 

Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
_____________________________________________________________

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Alumni
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎12-04-2006
Message 5 of 17 (334 Views)

Re: help feature defaults to Autodesk Exchange online

08-10-2011 10:23 AM in reply to: govacj

If access to Online Help is actually blocked (even with the correct path), you can use an offline version by unchecking the "Access online content" box from the System tab of the Options dialog.


Kate Morrical
Technical Marketing Manager
Autodesk, Inc.
LT Unlimited
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 6 of 17 (332 Views)

Re: help feature defaults to Autodesk Exchange online

08-10-2011 10:31 AM in reply to: Kate_LT

This is currently checked in my Options, System tab but Help does not default to Online as this would indicate it should.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Active Member
govacj
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-09-2011
Message 7 of 17 (331 Views)

Re: help feature defaults to Autodesk Exchange online

08-10-2011 10:38 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

This is beginning to be a bit more then I hoped for. I'm assuming that the word file your referring to is , index.html?

 

Is it possible that the 2012 version is set up to only go online if you click on their help box? The response of my pc to your instruction don't appear to be going in the right direction to default to offline help. 

 

 

 

.

Active Member
govacj
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-09-2011
Message 8 of 17 (329 Views)

Re: help feature defaults to Autodesk Exchange online

08-10-2011 10:52 AM in reply to: Kate_LT

I think this worked.

 

I may have created other problem for myself, with changes I made.  

 

I set it to open in pdf format. i get a error message in pdf window.

 

" There is an error opening this document. The filename directory, directory name or volumn label syntax is incorrect"

 

ggggrrrr

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 9 of 17 (324 Views)

Re: help feature defaults to Autodesk Exchange online

08-10-2011 11:11 AM in reply to: govacj

Okay, under the Help Location shown in the Options dialog does your's say:

C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Autodesk LT 2012 - English\Help\Index.html

 

 

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Active Member
govacj
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-09-2011
Message 10 of 17 (321 Views)

Re: help feature defaults to Autodesk Exchange online

08-10-2011 11:21 AM in reply to: Kate_LT

Yes...

 

c:\program files\autodesk\autocad lt 2012 - english\help\indexex.html

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community