AutoCAD LT General

Reply
Active Contributor
mec4cast01
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
Message 1 of 14 (9,839 Views)

creating titleblock in autocad LT

9839 Views, 13 Replies
04-22-2011 04:53 PM

I am new to autocad lt .  I am trying to draw a titleblock.  I am having problems with the text.  When I move the block the text doesnt come with it .  Also I have saved it as a template and then insert it into the layout for a 24 x 36 size paper - it works but not with the text.  When I go to another layolut in an 11 x17 printout do I insert that titleblock that I used for the 24 x 36 or do I creat another in the 11 x 17 layout? I am also confused about organizing where I file my templates which right now I have been filing it in a folder under my documents?  Is this correct?

Thank you

Active Contributor
Quagga
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎07-08-2010
Message 2 of 14 (9,822 Views)

Re: creating titleblock in autocad LT

04-24-2011 08:58 AM in reply to: mec4cast01

Hi,

Why not copy the generic 24 x 36 title block.dwg) and modify it, Its in your template directory.

If things don't change they'll stay as they are !
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 3 of 14 (9,800 Views)

Re: creating titleblock in autocad LT

04-25-2011 12:46 PM in reply to: mec4cast01

First it seems that you need to take a basic CAD course at the local community college.

Second if you save the drawing as a Template it will be saved in the default Template Folder as assigned in Tools; Option; Files; Template Settings...

    a. To Save As Template: Save As; and at the bottom of the dialog click the Dropdown Files of Type and choose dwt

    b. This will save to the defualt folder and will show you file when using QNEW to start a new Drawing

Thirdly how and where are you creating the Template? Is the Text in the same Space; i.e. Model or Paper?

Fourth scaling Templates up and down for various paper sizes can be done but IMHO it is much easier to create Templates for each size paper. (Although you may then have multiple items to update if you change something like a Layer color acroos the company)

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Active Contributor
mec4cast01
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
Message 4 of 14 (9,787 Views)

Re: creating titleblock in autocad LT

04-25-2011 05:58 PM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Yes I am taking a class at the local college in basic autocad.  But it is basically explaining the ribbon and the work space and basic drawing skills.  It doesnt go into orgainizing and setting up the program - I am trying to do it on my own with the class and an autocad book.  The template I understand and creating one and filing it in my document folder.  I have been creating the templates in model space - the titleblock for example and then inserting it into my drawing and  then opening in layout or paper space.  Is this incorrect?

Thank you for your help

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 877
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 5 of 14 (9,779 Views)

Re: creating titleblock in autocad LT

04-26-2011 03:18 AM in reply to: mec4cast01

Don't feel bad.  It took me quite a long time initially to figure out how the title block thing works too.  While the information provided here so far is all factually correct, I'm not sure how much of it would have helped me back when I was learning this either.  So let me see if I can point you in the right direction.

 

You do begin creating a title block in model space, yes.  Draw it to the full scale you want it to plot, ie 8.5"x11", 11"x17", etc.  You can draw a hidden line for the outline of the paper to guide you for borders, put points at the corners, or just at 0,0, your choice.  Fill in as much common information and "blocking" as you want for page number, project title, and other areas.  But to get started I'd suggest you leave a lot of these areas blank for now.  Text that will never change is safe to include however.  Make sure that whatever you draw or text you provide is at the full scale you will want it plotted. 

 

When you're happy with your new title block (keyword: block)  ... make it a block!  Give the block a suitable name for its size, etc.  Then go to an empty layout tab and insert it.   If the layout already has a viewport, delete it.  Viewports in layouts/border blocks should be thought of as custom... you add them later as you need them.  Be sure to insert your new block at 0,0.  Basically at this point you have your title (border) block... but it still needs work.  Save it out as a template (DWT) file now and resave over it as you add and refine things. 

 

From here as you set up paper sizes and tweak the location of how it prints on paper you can resave the template as you improve it.  You'll find that 0,0 in AutoCAD is seldom 0,0 with a printer.  Refine the print location using the Plot Offset (X,Y boxes) in the Plot dialog.  Don't be surprised if the offsets are different for different printers/plotters/DWF/PDF plots either.  

 

As you begin to understand more about how to create plot setups for different printer/plotter combinations you'll want to start studying block atttributes and adding them to your block.  Title block attributes will make it easy to enter in data when you create a new layout using your template.  Study how to create custom fields too and use them within text areas in your block also.  This will further customize your template.  A classic use of fields in a title block template is for making a custom plot stamp.  Mine includes automatically including the drawing's full file name and path.  I can't begin to tell you how much time that's saved me over the years!  :smileyhappy: I'll also use custom fields to provide common info like project number, creation date, site information (I typically do drawings for several different sites), and other things I don't want to type over and over.  A quick review of your work will tell you quickly what data is repeatable and suitable for fields.

 

But most importantly your new title block is more than just a title/border block drawing; it’s a major template file that will store loads of standard information that you’ll use from drawing to drawing.  It can & should include standard layers, text, dimension, multi-leader, and table styles, scale settings, and maybe even other blocks you use over and over.  Creating this one file may be one of the most important drawings you ever make.  Done well it will not only shorten the time you spend on a project but will help you maintain consistency between drawings.  Personally this process taught me more about how to use AutoCAD than just about any other project.  And I'll still tweak my templates from time to time to this very day.

 

You’ll have to hit the books to understand how much of this works, and it might take a little time for some things to sink in.  But it’s all worth it. 

 

Good luck!

Dave.

 

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,026
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 6 of 14 (9,764 Views)

Re: creating titleblock in autocad LT

04-26-2011 09:31 AM in reply to: heinsite

Is this a bad time to mention the Drawing Properties' "Custom" tab, and the use of fields in your titleblock?

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Active Contributor
mec4cast01
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
Message 7 of 14 (9,762 Views)

Re: creating titleblock in autocad LT

04-26-2011 09:46 AM in reply to: heinsite

Hi Dave

Thanks for the words of encouragement.  You can learn the various functions and commands but it is the organizing of everthing that has me confused.  I did a template with my layers ,units,plot styles, text styles.  Then I thought the titleblock should be another template - can I include that all in one template? Or is it easier (I do landscape designs) to do all my work first and then insert the titleblock when I am getting ready to go to layout space to print? I have a layout that I have setup for printing 24x36 - so thats why I made a titleblock 24 x 36  But I also do 11 x 17 layout then do I make a separate titleblock for 11 x 17?  I am just learning about fields which I can use to insert text that gets repeated on some of the drawings.  So then I would do the text fields for a 24 x 36 layout titleblock and one for 11 x 17 layout titleblock ?  I know i have a lot of questions.

Thank you for all your help

 

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 877
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 8 of 14 (9,757 Views)

Re: creating titleblock in autocad LT

04-26-2011 10:52 AM in reply to: mec4cast01

Right now I don't have a plotter, but my printer is capable of printing as large as ANSI B (11x17).  So I do exactly what you describe.  My primary project template includs four (4) separate layout tabs, two for landscape 8.5"x11" and two for 11"x17" landscape.  One of each is a main title page and the other is a typical drawing sheet border block.  The main DWT file that contains these has the basic standard layers I always start with, my text styles, my dimension and multi-leader styles and so forth.  I almost always start my project work, be it a construction plan or exhibit from this template.  Combined with a set of custom Tool Palettes and I hit the ground running.

 

AutoCAD installs with a standard template location.  Search for DWT files on your system and you'll find it.  If you want to change back to it you can do so within Options Files.  But there's no reason you can't store your templates in another location and point your system to it.  I do that myself since I've created a separate folder for them.  One other thing you can do is once you create a custom template for yourself you can change the QNEW setting so that AutoCAD will always select it when you start a new drawing.

 

Keep plugging away.  It's a windy path sometimes. 

 

And yes also to the other new :smileyvery-happy:comment above... USE fields in your border blocks where you can!

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Active Contributor
mec4cast01
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
Message 9 of 14 (9,746 Views)

Re: creating titleblock in autocad LT

04-26-2011 03:55 PM in reply to: mec4cast01

Dave

Thanks so much for your help. I am going to practice what you just stated.  If I have other questions do you mind if i send you m,y questions.

Thanks again

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 877
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 10 of 14 (9,736 Views)

Re: creating titleblock in autocad LT

04-26-2011 09:00 PM in reply to: mec4cast01

Not at all.  If I can't answer your questions there are lots of others here who can. 

 

My system may not be the best or even the most efficient, but it works well enough for me and I'll continue to use it until I learn even more tricks... one of which just became available in LT this year:  Sheet Sets.

 

I finally figured a lot of this out using the following reference:

 

"AutoCAD Secrets Every User Should Know", by Dan Abbot, published by Sybex.

 

And another I can't live without anymore are the Autodesk Official Training Guides.  They're pricey, but worth it.  If you're using 2012 now order and wait for the most current version that will ship in a month or so.  Right now the version I have is this:

 

"Mastering AutoCAD 2011 and AutoCAD LT 2011", by George Omura, published by Sybex.

 

I've got other references too, but truthfully I seem to always revert back to these for the final word.

 

Again, good studying.  Learn one new thing a day and pretty soon you'll feel pretty good about yourself.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community