AutoCAD LT General

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-21-2012
Message 1 of 7 (205 Views)
Accepted Solution

autocad lt 2012 from mac store

205 Views, 6 Replies
06-21-2012 05:48 PM

Just found out i dont qualify for upgrades because the product doesnt have a serial number?  I feel like i've been robbed.  If i cant upgrade to 2013 for a cheaper fee i would have never purchased it to begin with.  I realize LT is the cheaper product in the family, but 900 bucks is still 900 bucks.  I thought i was making an investment in a product that would be ongoing.  And to make matters worse when ever i call auto desk for any help they point me at apple and basically say they've washed there hands of it, and Apple points me at auto desk and does the same.  

 

i'm really left wondering now too, if Auto Cad LT 2012 will continue geting supported?  Will it get a retina update?  will they continue working on stability?  

 

beyond frustrated.  

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,241
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 7 (200 Views)

Re: autocad lt 2012 from mac store

06-21-2012 08:04 PM in reply to: cityent81
Yellow pages in your region, look up your local Autodesk reseller and inquire by talking to a warm body, not the app store. Get the real story.

And if I may ask, if you already have LT 2012 installed you have a "serial number" you just need to know where to look for it. Ask in the MAC forum, you are posting in the Windows forum: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-for-Mac/bd-p/520

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-21-2012
Message 3 of 7 (157 Views)

Re: autocad lt 2012 from mac store

07-01-2012 02:29 PM in reply to: cityent81
official reply from mac app store is that autocad lt is delivered as an unserialized product and therefore not elegible for upgrade.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,241
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 7 (149 Views)

Re: autocad lt 2012 from mac store

07-02-2012 06:26 AM in reply to: cityent81
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-11-2013
Message 5 of 7 (72 Views)

Re: autocad lt 2012 from mac store

05-11-2013 07:25 AM in reply to: cityent81

I have to tell you, I am not a happy camper either. I have been using Autodesk products from the DOS verson of GernericCAD and have moved up through AutoSketch, AutoCAD LT versions up to 2012 and then LT fo Mac as I purchased a MacBook Pro a couple of years ago. No where did it tell me it was unupgradeable. No where did it say that it was not written by Autodesk, found all that out later. And I agree, $900.00 is $900.00. I am the President of a small business that does environmental equipment design and sales and I love LT. I didnt like the fact that i could not draw double lines (really Mac LT? no double lines?) but have gotten used to the quirks. Now I have purchased a Surface Pro and am going to run the 2014 versions on it and in Parallels on the Macbook Pro. I cant find a single person to talk to from Autodesk anywhere. No contact numbers, not technical support numbers. Really? Are you people just that arrogant? Not even a customer service number that will not direct you to the web. I guess I will buy the full version of 2014 LT and continue on but the MAC experience has been a disaster. I dont know if 2013 LT on the Mac is better now. I had issues with the objects dissapearing during move commands, etc. Let me know if anyone has better luck.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 6 of 7 (65 Views)

Re: autocad lt 2012 from mac store

05-13-2013 04:56 AM in reply to: GSprunk

Welcome to the Autodesk Forums!

 

Autodesk is bound by the requirements of Apple for the design of LT for Mac. In some cases Autodesk is unable to provide the same program capabilities that are allowed in PC versions.

 

You may find better info in this Forum for your LT for Mac queries:

Mac Forum:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-for-Mac/bd-p/520

 

And as far as contact is concerned:

Support Offering: (click the tabs for options)
http://usa.autodesk.com/support-offerings/basic/

Licensing and license tranfer tips and help are at:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=18221949&linkID=9240617

Autodesk support is now on Twitter 24/5 (@autodeskhelp): https://twitter.com/AutodeskHelp
With a blog: http://blog.autodeskhelp.com/

Up & Ready Installation and Startup Help (free for new installs):
http://usa.autodesk.com/support-offerings/up-and-ready/

Safety Net / Per Incident Autodesk support (not free):
http://usa.autodesk.com/support-offerings/per-incident/

If you are on subscription, visit your Autodesk Subscription Page for direct Autodesk Help:
http://www.autodesk.com/subscriptionlogin

Contact a Reseller for support (not free):
http://www.autodesk.com/reseller

Customer Error Reporting:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=7047344&linkID=9240617

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,241
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 7 (59 Views)

Re: autocad lt 2012 from mac store

05-13-2013 05:58 AM in reply to: GSprunk
If you want to talk to Autodesk direct, you need to buy a subscription: did you? Those are the rules for direct contact, like all other major software brands do.
If you want to pay as you go, or only use free support, Charles provided you with links above.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community