AutoCAD LT General

Reply
Active Contributor
KristinLindberg
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎10-11-2010
Message 1 of 12 (1,933 Views)
Accepted Solution

Quick way to rename layout tabs?

1933 Views, 11 Replies
10-18-2012 12:07 PM

So, I have this drawing with over 200 layout tabs. (I do shop drawings for a cabinet/countertop manufacturer, and we do one drawing per project.) Here's the thing... I need to eliminate pages 1, 6, 14, 20, 24, 30, 40, 44, 47, 56, 61, 64, 73, 78, 81, 90, 95, and 101 because they are now NOT a part of the project.

 

Here's why that is a problem:

 

In my title block, I  have the layout name as a field, so it says "PG [layout tab name]/224" which is needed because there's a table of contents for the pages that are printed.

 

Is there any easy eay to renumber all the tabs, or am I stuck re-numbering every single one?

AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 SP2
AutoCAD 2013 SP2
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,650
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 12 (1,929 Views)

Re: Quick way to rename layout tabs?

10-18-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: KristinLindberg

There is no automatic way in LT.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
marchitect_nc
Posts: 280
Registered: ‎11-27-2003
Message 3 of 12 (1,922 Views)

Re: Quick way to rename layout tabs?

10-18-2012 01:00 PM in reply to: KristinLindberg

Will this work...Rename the unneeded tabs to Not Used-1, Not Used-6, etc, delete the viewports from those layouts,and now your Title Block shows the Table of Contents with layouts as Not Used-1, etc?

 

Just an idea.

m

Active Contributor
KristinLindberg
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎10-11-2010
Message 4 of 12 (1,917 Views)

Re: Quick way to rename layout tabs?

10-18-2012 01:18 PM in reply to: KristinLindberg

Unfortunately I think that would confuse the workers down in the shop even more.

AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 SP2
AutoCAD 2013 SP2
Active Contributor
KristinLindberg
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎10-11-2010
Message 5 of 12 (1,916 Views)

Re: Quick way to rename layout tabs?

10-18-2012 01:19 PM in reply to: pendean

Is there an automatic way with AutoCAD (full version)? I have AutoCAD at home (not student version - we had the scary plot stamp stuck in our office for awhile from a temp worker on a laptop - YIKES). Maybe I could open it into AutoCAD and save and then open it back up in LT. Any suggestions there?

AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 SP2
AutoCAD 2013 SP2
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,650
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 12 (1,909 Views)

Re: Quick way to rename layout tabs?

10-18-2012 02:28 PM in reply to: KristinLindberg

If you have access to AutOCAD, you can post in the Customization Discussion area for an automation customization:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Visual-LISP-AutoLISP-and-General/bd-p/130

Your original post, repeated there, would be plenty of info to share (with the screenshot).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Mentor
steven-g
Posts: 494
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 7 of 12 (1,888 Views)

Re: Quick way to rename layout tabs?

10-18-2012 10:58 PM in reply to: KristinLindberg

The layout command will allow you to rename a tab layout, so a simple script would do the job, in windows notepad create a simple command matrix as follows

 

layout r 1 1

layout r 2 2

layout r 3 scratch

layout r 4 3

layout r 5 4

layout r 6 scratch1

layout r 7 5

layout r 8 6

layout r 9 scratch2

layout r 10 7

 

this gives you a logical view of which layouts need to alter ,the first 2 layouts in the example are fine (the "r" is for rename)

then split this matrix up into individual lines as shown below, make sure there are no spaces anywhere even at the end of a line (the very last line should be a blank line).

 

script-----

layout

r

3

scratch

layout

r

4

3

layout

r

5

4

layout

r

6

scratch1

layout

r

7

5

layout

r

8

6

layout

r

9

scratch2

layout

r

10

7

 

script-----

 

Save the file with an extension scr ("Rename.scr"). Look in the help files for how to run a script in autocad, but you can just drag it onto the autocad window from windows explorer. In the example I started with tabs 1-10 and finished with 1-7 plus 3 tabs called scratch* then just delete the scratch files. Create a test drawing with 10 tabs to try it and whenever you run a script like this I would advise doing it on a copy of a file just in case of errors.

 

Regards Steven Gray
Setting Out (Joinery Manufacturing)
Autocad 2013LT
Windows 7 professional
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,650
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 8 of 12 (1,876 Views)

Re: Quick way to rename layout tabs?

10-19-2012 06:00 AM in reply to: steven-g

I'm all for autoamtion when it saves time, but for a one-off and at over 99 layouts to delete and rename, it would probably be quicker to manually do so that wrting a script out in full like that IMHO.

 

Right-click a layout, delete.

Double-click a layout, type in new name.

 

So much quicker for a one-off 99 layout renaming and deletion project.

 

Either way, if you are going to suggest a fix, go all the way and not partial to only suit your needs. The OP wishes to delete as well as rename, so the script would be more accurately represented like this:

 

layout

delete

1

layout

rename

2

1

layout

rename

3

2

layout

rename

4

3

layout

rename

5

4

layout

delete

6

layout

rename

7

5

 

and so on all the way to layout number 99.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
KristinLindberg
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎10-11-2010
Message 9 of 12 (1,867 Views)

Re: Quick way to rename layout tabs?

10-19-2012 07:15 AM in reply to: pendean

Can't believe I forgot about the layout command... what was I (not) thinking?!

AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 SP2
AutoCAD 2013 SP2
Valued Mentor
steven-g
Posts: 494
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 10 of 12 (1,843 Views)

Re: Quick way to rename layout tabs?

10-19-2012 01:50 PM in reply to: pendean

Either way, if you are going to suggest a fix, go all the way and not partial to only suit your needs. and what would my needs be.:catvery-happy:

 

I was under the impression the discussion groups were to encourage discussion and give people assistance in finding solutions. It's very easy to say it can't be done and then later come back and say I can do it better when someone else offers a suggestion. I will humbly admit to an oversight on my part for completely missing the delete option, but I was concentrating on the rename part of the question. And indeed I could have gone the whole way and written the whole script and posted it here, but my intention was to show a method that exists and works. And as a matter of fact and not opinion It actually took me just under 2 minutes to complete the script for 201 tabs, I use excel to automate scripts regularly, If it was something that the OP does regularly, and has excel, that could be reduce down to one excel cell to hold the number of tabs in a drawing then a list of the tab numbers to be removed. (rough guess for the example given 20 seconds)

Regards Steven Gray
Setting Out (Joinery Manufacturing)
Autocad 2013LT
Windows 7 professional

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community