AutoCAD LT General

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-14-2012
Message 1 of 10 (262 Views)

Point Names

262 Views, 9 Replies
05-14-2012 05:54 AM

I have a *.csv file complete with point refernces, easting, northing and height.  I'm trying to find a way that I can import the points so that I can snap to them and also include the point reference beside the inserted point.  Currently running CAD LT 2011.  Any help would be great.

 

Cheers

 

Andy

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 10 (250 Views)

Re: Point Names

05-14-2012 07:58 AM in reply to: andylewis80

Start reading thru these and understand Cocantenation:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/forums/searchpage/tab/message?filter=location&location=forum-board%3A4...

 

Post back if you get stuck with specific issues.

The attached file is a Cocantenation example.

 

Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
_____________________________________________________________

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-14-2012
Message 3 of 10 (246 Views)

Re: Point Names

05-14-2012 08:15 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

I'd read through some of the ways of importing the multitude of points I have - and had already completed the Cocantenation example.  The sticking point is assigning the point I.D from the *.csv file to the corresponding point in the *.dwg

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 875
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 4 of 10 (231 Views)

Re: Point Names

05-14-2012 09:21 PM in reply to: andylewis80

If your "points" are really attributed blocks then the solution is a bit different.  Is this the case?

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 5 of 10 (227 Views)

Re: Point Names

05-15-2012 05:13 AM in reply to: heinsite

I thought that too but the points will come in as single entities and not Blocks.

The OP would then need to either convert these to a Block and assign a Location Field to each which I think is much more than they wish to do.

Though I believe this to be the solution. I do not know of any entitiy that you can just create and have it report where and what it is without additional work.

The OP could Copy/Paste from Excel into a MTEXT entity.

 

Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
_____________________________________________________________

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
hwalker
Posts: 1,044
Registered: ‎07-14-2004
Message 6 of 10 (219 Views)

Re: Point Names

05-15-2012 07:34 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Here I come to save the day!

 

A script will do what you want. I just created the following script very quickly

 

POINT 10,10,10 TEXT 10,10,10 2.5 0 10,10,10

 

I'll break it down for you

 

POINT 10,10,10  creates a point at location 10,10,10

 

TEXT 10,10,10 chooses the co-ordinate to put the text.

2.5 is the text height

0 is the text rotation

10,10,10 is the text to put at that location

 

so for all your points  you would change it to

POINT your points TEXT your points 2.5 0 your points

 

Remember to put a hard return after the last your points and you can do it all in one script file

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 7 of 10 (214 Views)

Re: Point Names

05-15-2012 07:47 AM in reply to: hwalker

So...

If there are 25 points the OP would need 25 Scripts?

Or would need to enter the info 75 times?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
hwalker
Posts: 1,044
Registered: ‎07-14-2004
Message 8 of 10 (209 Views)

Re: Point Names

05-15-2012 08:14 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

He needs to open up his csv in excel and then put the following into a cell to the right of the first set of numbers

 

=CONCATENATE("point ",A2," text ",a2," 2.5 0 ",a2)

and that will make the script line. Then he just copy and pastes down the page, and it will do all the work.

 

Copy and paste the results into a text file.

 

If he thinks it's too much work. Post the csv file on here and when I have a spare 2 mins. I'll do it.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 9 of 10 (205 Views)

Re: Point Names

05-15-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: hwalker

Ahhh... did not think about addding the Text Command to the string.

Brilliant!

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 875
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 10 of 10 (198 Views)

Re: Point Names

05-15-2012 04:11 PM in reply to: hwalker

In the past when I've done this I've copied the final concatenated text out of the spreadsheet and pasted it at the AutoCAD command line.  As long as the command entries are correct that works too.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community