AutoCAD LT General

Reply
Member
cgordon002
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-26-2013
Message 1 of 12 (742 Views)
Accepted Solution

Maximum hardware specs for AutoCAD 2000?

742 Views, 11 Replies
02-26-2013 08:19 PM

Normally ask for minimum system requirements BUT this time I need your help and opinions on maximum system requirements for the older 2000 version.

*Expert Elite*
hwalker
Posts: 1,084
Registered: ‎07-14-2004
Message 2 of 12 (717 Views)

Re: Maximum hardware specs for AutoCAD 2000?

02-27-2013 12:45 AM in reply to: cgordon002

Well the following are the recommended for LT 2004, so I would go no higher than the following

 

  • Intel Pentium III or later, with 800 MHz processor, or compatible
  • Microsoft Windows XP (Professional, Home Edition, or Tablet PC Edition), Windows 2000 Professional, or Windows NT 4.0 (SP6a or later)
  • 128 MB (minimum), 256 MB RAM (recommended)
  • 200 MB free disk space
  • 1024x768 VGA with true color (minimum)
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 6
  • CD-ROM drive
  • Mouse or other pointing device
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,638
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 12 (708 Views)

Re: Maximum hardware specs for AutoCAD 2000?

02-27-2013 05:22 AM in reply to: cgordon002

For R/LT2000? Win98se/NT4 and any hardware you can find at Walmart or your favorite Office Supply store in the discount or firesale aisle.

 

Don't forget to install all the "2000" updates and patches too.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,026
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 4 of 12 (697 Views)

Re: Maximum hardware specs for AutoCAD 2000?

02-27-2013 08:53 AM in reply to: cgordon002

I'd like to point out the obvious -- use a 32 bit system, or an emulator. And those systems only go 3 or 4 Gbs max.

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Member
cgordon002
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-26-2013
Message 5 of 12 (677 Views)

Re: Maximum hardware specs for AutoCAD 2000?

02-27-2013 06:31 PM in reply to: Bob_Zurunkle

Not real sure about what you mean about 3 or 4 GB's?

 

However you helped a lot by pointing that AutoCad 2000 is 32 bit. So I am thinking of trying Windows 7 Professional in 32 bit mode with a new computer. Just using average hardware with current processor, harddrive, Memory, video, etc.. Am I on the right track?

Mentor
KateMorrical
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 6 of 12 (664 Views)

Re: Maximum hardware specs for AutoCAD 2000?

02-28-2013 05:59 AM in reply to: cgordon002

Can I ask why you need 2000? A lot has changed in the last decade and a half, and if you're buying a new computer anyway, why not get software designed for it?

--
Kate Morrical
Digital Design Manager
Washington, DC
BIMmuse.com
Member
cgordon002
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-26-2013
Message 7 of 12 (656 Views)

Re: Maximum hardware specs for AutoCAD 2000?

02-28-2013 08:56 AM in reply to: KateMorrical
The man in charge is very concerned about any changes that a new version might have on the proprietary designs. Unfortunately he will consider any options until it is not possible to use AutoCAD 2000 Cgordon002
Mentor
KateMorrical
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 8 of 12 (650 Views)

Re: Maximum hardware specs for AutoCAD 2000?

02-28-2013 10:36 AM in reply to: cgordon002

Tell him it's not possible. :-)

 

Seriously, if he's actually concerned about the content of the files, opening old DWGs in newer versions has NEVER been a problem. There will be some time & effort expended in learning new features (and how the old ones work now), but probably less than you'd spend trying to baby the old software.

--
Kate Morrical
Digital Design Manager
Washington, DC
BIMmuse.com
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,026
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 9 of 12 (617 Views)

Re: Maximum hardware specs for AutoCAD 2000?

03-01-2013 08:50 AM in reply to: KateMorrical

I'd agree. And the new stuff will work on a Windows 7 machine with 64 bit system, so you can have lots more memory. 32 bit systems have a memory "ceiling" of about 3.2 Gb.

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,026
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 10 of 12 (614 Views)

Re: Maximum hardware specs for AutoCAD 2000?

03-01-2013 08:54 AM in reply to: Bob_Zurunkle

I'd also like to point out that there were big changes in 2008 bringing tons of advantages to viewports and to dimensioning, to name a few. The really big change was the addition of annotaion objects that year. All of these can increase productivity immensely. The latest verisons have all of this and the Ribbon!

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community