AutoCAD LT General

Reply
Member
Mcdowall
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 1 of 55 (14,843 Views)
Accepted Solution

Linetypes Will not Purge

14843 Views, 54 Replies
11-21-2011 10:08 PM

Hi,

 

So i have all these linetypes (see image) that i think originated in Microstation and have appeared on my computer when i binded a few DWGs derived from DGNs. (I can explain all that more if you think its warrented).

 

This is basicly what keeps happening.

- I open a brand new template, all line types are there (usual: dashed, phantom etc).

- I can work away happily, untill i copy something (a line, text, circle....) from a drawing that has these linetypes and BAM they all appear in the new drawing.

 

In this way, the linetypes have 'spread' into quite a few dwg's, and i cannot get rid of them once they are in the drawing and its saved.

 

A few other things....

- Other people in the office can open the drawings on their computers = NO weird Linetypes appear. Some open it and they do appear. (so if you open the dwg attached to this and find no linetypes, i dont know why!)

- The linetypes wont purge due to being in use etc

 

I would say the problem has originated from when I binded the xrefs, which is fine, but how to i fix it now?

The two main xrefs that appear to be referenced in the linetypes description are being used by other people in the workplace so i cant just delete them and start again.

 

Hopefully someone has as idea of what I can do/try to fix the problem!

 

 

Linetypes.JPG

 

 

Mentor
Johneng
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
Message 2 of 55 (14,830 Views)

Re: Linetypes Will not Purge

11-22-2011 06:52 AM in reply to: Mcdowall

I don't know why purge would not remove them. Using the WBLOCK command ENTIRE DRAWING option did remove them in my testing.

*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,690
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 3 of 55 (14,825 Views)

Re: Linetypes Will not Purge

11-22-2011 07:35 AM in reply to: Mcdowall

The $0$ indicates, as you know, that it was brought in from an xref.

 

One way I have found to get rid of these un-needed layers is to use laywalk. Quite handy, actually.

 

Caveat: if the line is embedded in a block/xref it may not purge. You may need to take blocks into block editor and run laywalk.

 

I have inherited about 10 years of drawings from my predecessor that has thousands of extraneous points on layers that are non-sequitor (undoubtedly from exploded dimensions) and chunks of lines that he left .... eg: instead of extending a line he drew a new one from the end of the unfinished to the point he wanted to go to.

 

It's a PITA but laywalk should get you thru it.

 

Zoom extents in model space and thaw/turn on everything and run laywalk and it wil show you the snippets of line that may or may not be lying around. After doing laywalk, also try a purge. There is something in there that has that layer used somehow.

 

HTH

 

Regards,

DJ

 

 

Mentor
Johneng
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
Message 4 of 55 (14,822 Views)

Re: Linetypes Will not Purge

11-22-2011 08:40 AM in reply to: drjohn

drjohn the OP is trying to remove un-needed linetypes not layers.  Did you look at the OP's posted dwg file. It is pretty much stripped down to layer 0, one layout tab and one paper space viewport, 15 or so linetypes (that won't purge) and no blocks. Doing a list all only shows the viewport as the only object in the drawing. After deleting the layout tab and doing an erase all I did a list all and did not find any objects. I did a purge and there was nothing to purge. But the linetypes were still in the drawing. The only way I could remove the linetypes from the drawings was with the WBLOCK command.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,642
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 55 (14,818 Views)

Re: Linetypes Will not Purge

11-22-2011 09:05 AM in reply to: Mcdowall

>>>... when i binded a few DWGs derived from DGNs...<<<

You needed to clean out the original files before Xreffing and binding I suspect: WBLOCK as noted by others here was the way to 'fix' the originals. Typically these kind of issue show up when, in a rush, we all take these shortcuts without taking the time to gut the original file(s) of items not needed or necessary.

 

I don't understand your statement "others can open these files and not get the linetypes" since all of us here, and we are not in your office, can see the definitions quite clearly. Are you all actually openin the same exact files? Are you all on the same version and flavor of AutoCAD?

 

I also cannot replicate your copy/paste brings them in issue with your posted file if I draw something there then copy/paste it in one of my drawings: perhaps your copied objects have these definitions?

 

I think there is more to this that your posted file or your post are providing.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,690
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 6 of 55 (14,814 Views)

Re: Linetypes Will not Purge

11-22-2011 10:50 AM in reply to: Johneng

Musta missed that.  My bad.  :smileyindifferent:

 

 

Regards,

DJ

 

 

Member
Mcdowall
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 7 of 55 (14,805 Views)

Re: Linetypes Will not Purge

11-22-2011 04:27 PM in reply to: pendean

So your saying i need to 'clean out' the xrefs? I have attempted to purge in the xrefs to no avail.

 

What do i do with the WBLOCK - ENTIRE DRAWING command?

I make the entire drawing a block.... then what? A PURGE doesnt remove the linetypes. Do i need to insert the block or delete it?

 

Ignore the 'Others were unable to see the linetypes', the person i asked to check wasnt opening the right file nor looking in the right spot....

 

THe Copy-Paste issue is my real problem. The other drafty has the same issue, draw a new line/polyline, copy the line and the linetypes appear. I don't know why it doesnt happen in your drawing, it must be a setting somewhere.... Ill try explain better.

 

(DWG with XREFS ATTACHED) >> Copy LINE >> Paste in DWG 2 (New Blank Template) >>> Linetypes appear >>> COPY text created in DWG 2 >>> Paste in DWG 3 (New, Blank Template) >> Linetypes appear.

 

Sorry if this is repeating myself  but its hard to explain with out being infront of my computer!

If the copied objects do have the linetypes 'attached' to them somehow, any guessing on this setting being turned off?

 

 

Mentor
Johneng
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
Message 8 of 55 (14,796 Views)

Re: Linetypes Will not Purge

11-22-2011 09:39 PM in reply to: Mcdowall

Yes you will need to "clean out" the drawings that have the un-needed linetypes using the WBLOCK - ENTIRE DRAWING command. As Dean suggested start with the original files being xreferenced and work your way down to the files that contain the xrefrences.

 

The WBLOCK command ENTIRE DRAWING option does not make a block. It is basically the SAVEAS command. It will save your entire current drawing with a new name you specify. For some reason I don't understand it strips out (removes your unpurgable linetypes)

 

Start the WBLOCK command. When the Write Block dialog box pops up click the ENTIRE DRAWING option on the top left side under source. At the bottom of the dialog box under under Destination Fill in the path and file name of your choice. Finally click the OK button. You should now have a "copy" of your current drawing (without the linetypes) in the location and with the file name you entered under the Destination section of the Write Block dialog box.

 

 

Wblock.jpg

 

 

After posting the information above I played around with writing a Macro to help speed up your "cleanup" and came up with the following Macro.

 

^C^C-wblock;\*;

 

 

Member
Mcdowall
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 9 of 55 (14,787 Views)

Re: Linetypes Will not Purge

11-22-2011 10:20 PM in reply to: Johneng

Hi,

 

So that appears to have worked.

 

Only issue is that it doesn't remove the linetypes when i use my LT version (2012). The other drafty can do it on their LT version but it only works in the Full Version (2011) on my computer.

 

Sooooooo dont know what happening there, but I can get rid of them now so all good!

 

Thank you all for your help.

Member
katrin.sullivan
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-30-2012
Message 10 of 55 (14,463 Views)

Re: Linetypes Will not Purge

10-30-2012 04:11 PM in reply to: Mcdowall

I have just run into this on a project. It is fixable... in a drawing without civil 3d objects in about 6 min.

With conciderably more.

 

The two methods we found were the use of Query and the use of DXF export. Please note this will strip all civil 3d objects of their intellegence and ability to be seen as Civil 3d objects, so for your best results please export these as an XML. prior to executing query or dxf option.

 

Execute query pull desired layers into clean drawing save as a new drawing ... the bad linetypes will be screened out. If you have tabbed layouts such as sheets this will not work see dxf option.

 

DXF export will allow you to purge (select nested option too) if you purge from the DXF, prior to saving it back as a dwg.

then import the xml to restore objects and switch to appropriate layers etc.

 

DO NOT use Lman to import from corrupted drawing, or to export this will reinfect. Do NOT use the file for ncopy, copy base or anything else, for some reason design center will pull blocks from infected drawings that were not infected on insert and remove those for reinsert without carrying the problem along.

 

I hope it helps it is a bunch of work, and you will have to do some layerstates cleanup but it clears the problem and the resulting drawings size is about 1/3 to 1/5 the size depending on how far the corruption has gone.

Good luck

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community