AutoCAD LT General

Reply
Active Member
GJWS&W
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
Message 1 of 14 (444 Views)
Accepted Solution

Linetype Scale not compatible between two drawings

444 Views, 13 Replies
02-08-2013 04:56 AM

I'm using AutoCAD LT 2007 and have a problem with linetype between two drawings. I have a standard key which I use on a number of drawings, problem is when I copy from my original file (in model space) to paper space on another drawing the linetype isn't viewed the same.

 

I've set LTSCALE to 1. PSLTSCALE to 0, Global scale factor to 1 in both files but still no joy. Any ideas?

 

Thanks in advance.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 14 (442 Views)

Re: Linetype Scale not compatible between two drawings

02-08-2013 04:59 AM in reply to: GJWS&W

Make sure the definition of the Linetype is the same by Loading the linetype again into the problem drawing.

Also, are you making the Paperspace viewport Active when setting PSLTSCALE?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,660
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 14 (437 Views)

Re: Linetype Scale not compatible between two drawings

02-08-2013 05:03 AM in reply to: GJWS&W

Also ensure you are not copying between a metric and an imperial drawing: each uses a different .LIN definition file and the scales are different.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
GJWS&W
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
Message 4 of 14 (434 Views)

Re: Linetype Scale not compatible between two drawings

02-08-2013 05:10 AM in reply to: GJWS&W

I've tried re-loading the linetype in the problem drawing but this does not alter it in any way.

 

When i'm copying the key into the new drawing I am simply dropping it onto the drawing sheet template rather than placing it in a viewport.

Active Member
GJWS&W
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
Message 5 of 14 (432 Views)

Re: Linetype Scale not compatible between two drawings

02-08-2013 05:11 AM in reply to: GJWS&W

Dean

 

Would that be by simply checking the drawing units? If so I have done this.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,660
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 14 (430 Views)

Re: Linetype Scale not compatible between two drawings

02-08-2013 05:12 AM in reply to: GJWS&W

MEASUREMENT variable.

 

Post this file, point to the linetype in question, let's all have a look.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Mentor
KateMorrical
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 7 of 14 (418 Views)

Re: Linetype Scale not compatible between two drawings

02-08-2013 05:43 AM in reply to: GJWS&W

Does the linetype have text in it? If so, is the style the same in both drawings?

--
Kate Morrical
Digital Design Manager
Washington, DC
BIMmuse.com
Active Member
GJWS&W
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
Message 8 of 14 (417 Views)

Re: Linetype Scale not compatible between two drawings

02-08-2013 05:43 AM in reply to: pendean

Attached are the 2 files with everything else stripped out;

 

'Drainage Key' is how I want it to be seen, view this in MS and Ps and note they are the same.

'Problem Drawing' shows the lines i'm having problems with (clouded), linetype dashed.

 

I want to copy the 'drainage key' into a number of drawings in future as a standard.

 

MEASUREMENT was '1' for both drawings.

 

Thanks

Active Member
GJWS&W
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
Message 9 of 14 (415 Views)

Re: Linetype Scale not compatible between two drawings

02-08-2013 05:45 AM in reply to: KateMorrical

Kate

 

No, simple dashed line. Refer to the attachments in my previous post.....thanks!

Mentor
KateMorrical
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 10 of 14 (398 Views)

Re: Linetype Scale not compatible between two drawings

02-08-2013 05:59 AM in reply to: GJWS&W

From over here, it looks like the DASHED linetype in those files does not have the same definition. You can tell by looking at the size of the dashes in the linetype pulldown. Neither also *appear* to be out-of-the-box standard, but I wouldn't swear to that.

 

Either purge out the DASHED linetype from your problem drawing before you paste in the correct one, or identify the LIN file your correct type comes from and reload DASHED from there in your problem drawing.

--
Kate Morrical
Digital Design Manager
Washington, DC
BIMmuse.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community