AutoCAD LT General

Reply
Mentor
katie1994
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 1 of 10 (267 Views)
Accepted Solution

How to filter out exessive number of scale options in plot dialog box

267 Views, 9 Replies
11-14-2011 02:04 PM

I have recently started working on a project in metric and have a weird (to me) issue when I try to plot. There are literally hundreds, of scale options in the Scale popup, most of which make no sense to me. I know that I need 1:25, or 1:100 to fit on the page I am printing to. How do I remove or filter out all of the others such as 1:100 3_1_1_1_1_1? I don't even know what that notation means.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,798
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 10 (266 Views)

Re: How to filter out exessive number of scale options in plot dialog box

11-14-2011 02:21 PM in reply to: katie1994

SCALELISTEDIT command has a RESET option: if you are using LT2008, there is an external program Autodesk provided to help you tame them through many files instead of just one at a time since in that one version they constantly creep in from other files being inserted or xrefed.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 3 of 10 (256 Views)

Re: How to filter out exessive number of scale options in plot dialog box

11-15-2011 04:51 AM in reply to: pendean

Deans advice on the Utility is the way to go.

Remember that the Blocks you insert may be infected too and need to be cleaned.

Utilities and Drivers

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Mentor
katie1994
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 4 of 10 (252 Views)

Re: How to filter out exessive number of scale options in plot dialog box

11-15-2011 05:25 AM in reply to: pendean

I tried typing in SCALELISTEDIT  and got a window telling me "Unhandled exception has occurred in a component in your application. If you click Continue the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. Index was otside th bounds of the array." None of which makes any sense to me at all. There was also a button marked Details, that provided a list of computer language at the bottom of which was a reference to "JIT debugging is enabled."

 

I clicked Continue and nothing apparently happened. There is still an enormous list of scale options.

Mentor
katie1994
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 5 of 10 (250 Views)

Re: How to filter out exessive number of scale options in plot dialog box

11-15-2011 05:35 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

I wish the lovely people answering my questions would provide more details on how to accomplish their recommendations. I went to the Drivers and Utilites page, clicked on the appropriate .exe file, went through th installation screens. Now what? Is there supposed to be an icon on my desktop to click? Do I need to restart? Is there something added to a menu? The Drivers page had no information on what to do either.

 

But thank you, at least I have a path to follow now.

Mentor
katie1994
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 6 of 10 (247 Views)

Re: How to filter out exessive number of scale options in plot dialog box

11-15-2011 05:48 AM in reply to: katie1994

Me again, figured out that there is a Readme link on the Drivers page. Navigated to where I had downloaded the Utility. When I click to run I get a message telling me Acdb17.fll is missing from the program and to reinstall it. Which program? The utility or AutoCad? I checked and the Service Pack 1 has been installed so there are no updates to  my system.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 7 of 10 (246 Views)

Re: How to filter out exessive number of scale options in plot dialog box

11-15-2011 05:53 AM in reply to: katie1994

I ran the utility a while ago and do not recall the steps it takes to clean the infected files but I think it should ask you for a least a Folder or File to act upon and it may only work with LT 2008 or LT 2009. If yours is a different version then you may be haveing to do this one by one.

 

If SCALELISTEDIT is not correcting your file internally then you may want to try to WBLOCK this file into a new drawing file and try again. Or there may be a corruption in the program and you may need to think about a Repair Installation.

 

I downloaded and extracted the File to my desktop which gave me an icon to click and run the utility. This failed at taht point since I do not have a 2008 or 2009 LT software package. But there was a Desktop Icon to click.

 

LT Version?

One file or all?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Mentor
katie1994
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 8 of 10 (244 Views)

Re: How to filter out exessive number of scale options in plot dialog box

11-15-2011 05:59 AM in reply to: katie1994

I found the answer to my original question. When I went looking for how find the Acdb17.dbl file I read through a thread that lead back to the SCALELISTEDIT solution. The author pointed out that you have to add a dash in front of the command and that worked! So type in   -SCALELISTEDIT (note the dash)  and choose Reset from the dropdown list.

 

Sucess!

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,798
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 10 (231 Views)

Re: How to filter out exessive number of scale options in plot dialog box

11-15-2011 10:50 AM in reply to: katie1994

If you cannot run a core command in LT like that, then your LT installation or your DWG file is in bad need of repair. It's not rocket science, we promise :smileyhappy:

 

Back up first, then pop the LT disk in the disk drive and follow the prompts for a repair reinstall of LT.

if the problem is the DWG file, RECOVER command will do the trick usually.

 

You still managed to keep it a total secret what LT version you are using: reason is...?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Mentor
katie1994
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 10 of 10 (229 Views)

Re: How to filter out exessive number of scale options in plot dialog box

11-15-2011 10:56 AM in reply to: pendean

Sorry, 2008.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community