AutoCAD LT General

Reply
*Wyatt, Doug
Message 1 of 3 (250 Views)

Error - "AutoCad LT was not installed properly"

250 Views, 2 Replies
06-03-2001 05:05 PM
Hi,

I've just recently had to reinstall everything on an NT4
PC. When I reinstalled AutoCad LT 2000, it appeared to
function properly for a while but now whenever the user
tries to start it, he gets the message "This version of
AutoCad LT was not installed properly. You should
reinstall AutoCad LT immediately."

This problem is consistent for normal and administative
users. I've tried uninstalling AutoCad LT - got an error
the registry entries couldn't be removed, so I manually
cleaned the HKLM\Software entry. I reinstalled, without
any indication of a problem. But AutoCad LT still gives
the error whenever anyone tries to start it.

I suspect that the problem may be related to my having
installed NT4's sp4 to get active desktop, before sp6a
was installed, but I haven't been able to find an work-
around. Supposedly, sp4 makes NT4 permissions behave
like Windows 2000, from what I've read.

Has anyone had a similar problem, and possibly come up
with a solution?

Regards,
Doug Wyatt
--

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Doug Wyatt
Sys Admin - Kohlman Systems Research, Inc.
319 Perry St., Lawrence, KS 66044 USA
Phone: 785-843-4099 Fax: 785-843-6459
*Gallagher, Kevin
Message 2 of 3 (250 Views)

Re: Error - "AutoCad LT was not installed properly"

06-03-2001 06:59 PM in reply to: *Wyatt, Doug
Hi Doug

Is your LT2000 CD an upgrade or a full version ?

If it is an upgrade, you will have to go back and install the original full
version you purchased, then reinstall all the upgrades.

If you have a full version, perhaps someone else can help?


--

Best Regards
Kevin J Gallagher
*Wyatt, Doug
Message 3 of 3 (250 Views)

Re:

06-04-2001 08:18 AM in reply to: *Wyatt, Doug
Kevin,

Thanks, I was trying use the upgrade version without first
doing the AutoCad LT 97 install. I'd been told that just
copying the aclt.exe from the 97 CD to the install dir was
sufficient and worked fine. I was trying to save time,
and as it turned out, I didn't.

I've reinstalled using one of our full install CD's, still
avoiding doing a full 97 install (followed by the upgrade).

AutoCad LT 2000 now works fine.

Thanks for your feedback.

Regards,
Doug Wyatt

Kevin Gallagher wrote:
>
> Hi Doug
>
> Is your LT2000 CD an upgrade or a full version ?
>
> If it is an upgrade, you will have to go back and install the original full
> version you purchased, then reinstall all the upgrades.
>
> If you have a full version, perhaps someone else can help?
>
> --
>
> Best Regards
> Kevin J Gallagher

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community