AutoCAD LT General

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-26-2002
Message 1 of 6 (1,502 Views)

Dash line doesn't show in model layer

1502 Views, 5 Replies
07-26-2002 03:11 PM
Does anybody no why dashed line doesn't show in model layer but will show in layout layer?
*Daniel J. Altamura, R.A.
Message 2 of 6 (1,502 Views)

Re: Dash line doesn't show in model layer

07-26-2002 08:12 PM in reply to: kn6398

Type in PSLTSCALE at the command prompt, then read the
following from AutoCAD help:

 

PSLTSCALE

 

Type: Integer
Saved in: Drawing
Initial value:
1

Controls paper space linetype scaling.

nid="367">

0  No special linetype scaling. Linetype dash lengths
are based on the drawing units of the space (model or paper) in which the
objects were created. Scaled by the global

classid=clsid:adb880a6-d8ff-11cf-9377-00aa003b7a11 type=application/x-oleobject>

onclick=alink_LTSCALE_CMD_445210.Click();>LTSCALE
factor.

nid="368">

1  Viewport scaling governs linetype scaling. If

classid=clsid:adb880a6-d8ff-11cf-9377-00aa003b7a11 type=application/x-oleobject>
 
onclick=alink_TILEMODE_SYS_445214.Click();>TILEMODE
is set to 0, dash
lengths are based on paper space drawing units, even for objects in model space.
In this mode, viewports can have varying magnifications, yet display linetypes
identically. For a specific linetype, the dash lengths of a line in a viewport
are the same as the dash lengths of a line in paper space. You can still control
the dash lengths with LTSCALE.

When you change PSLTSCALE or use a command such as

classid=clsid:adb880a6-d8ff-11cf-9377-00aa003b7a11 type=application/x-oleobject>
 
onclick=alink_ZOOM_CMD_445218.Click();>ZOOM
with PSLTSCALE set to 1,
objects in viewports are not automatically regenerated with the new linetype
scale. Use the

classid=clsid:adb880a6-d8ff-11cf-9377-00aa003b7a11 type=application/x-oleobject>

onclick=alink_REGEN_CMD_445218.Click();>REGEN
or

classid=clsid:adb880a6-d8ff-11cf-9377-00aa003b7a11 type=application/x-oleobject>
 
onclick=alink_REGENALL_CMD_445218.Click();>REGENALL
commands to update
the linetype scales in each viewport.

 

You can scale linetypes in paper space either based on the drawing units of
the space in which the object was created or based on the paper space units.


You can set the

classid=clsid:adb880a6-d8ff-11cf-9377-00aa003b7a11 type=application/x-oleobject>
 
onclick=alink_PSLTSCALE_SYS_423842.Click();>PSLTSCALE
system variable to
maintain the same linetype scaling for objects displayed at different zoom
factors in a layout and in a layout viewport. For example, with
class=SmallCaps>PSLTSCALE
set to 1 (default), set the current linetype to
dashed, and then draw a line in a paper space layout. In the layout, create a
viewport with a zoom factor of 1x, make that layout viewport current, and then
draw a line using the same dashed linetype. The dashed lines should appear to be
the same. If you change the viewport zoom factor to 2x, the linetype scaling for
the dashed line in the layout and the dashed line in the layout viewport will be
the same, regardless of the difference in the zoom factor.


nid="3">

With PSLTSCALE turned on, you can
still control the dash lengths with

classid=clsid:adb880a6-d8ff-11cf-9377-00aa003b7a11 type=application/x-oleobject>

onclick=alink_LTSCALE_SYS_423844.Click();>LTSCALE
and

classid=clsid:adb880a6-d8ff-11cf-9377-00aa003b7a11 type=application/x-oleobject>
 
onclick=alink_CELTSCALE_SYS_423844.Click();>CELTSCALE
. In the following
illustration, the pattern of the linetypes in the drawing on the left has been
scaled to be the same regardless of the scale of the view. In the drawing on the
right, the scale of the linetypes matches the scale of each view.


--
Daniel J. Altamura, R.A.
Altamura Architectural Consulting
and
SoftWorx, Autodesk Authorized Developer

href="mailto:smileyvery-happy:Altamura@compuserve.com">DAltamura@compuserve.com

-----------------------------------------------------------------

 

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Does
anybody no why dashed line doesn't show in model layer but will show in layout
layer?
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-19-2003
Message 3 of 6 (1,502 Views)

Re:

08-02-2002 12:09 AM in reply to: kn6398
Well could you possibly help me with my problem, I have opened a new drawing with a scale of 1:50 so I’ve set the PSLTSCALE to '0' and LTSCALE to 350 but the line type is not coming out right, if I do the same in R14 it works fine.

Just to let you know I always do this on all my drawings and it works fine till now.

Is there a global variable that I don't know about?

Many Thanks

Jim
*Daniel J. Altamura, R.A.
Message 4 of 6 (1,502 Views)

Re:

08-02-2002 05:45 AM in reply to: kn6398
Make sure your non-continuous lines have a ltscale
that is set to 1.  This is not the global LTSCALE variable, but is a
property of each object.  Use the Properties Window to check this. 
After changing PSLTSCALE and the global LTSCALE variables, you may also need to
do a REGEN, or a REGENALL.  You can also set PSLTSCALE and LTSCALE both
equal to 1.  Try that.


--
Daniel J. Altamura, R.A.
Altamura Architectural
Consulting
and SoftWorx, Autodesk Authorized Developer

href="mailto:smileyvery-happy:Altamura@compuserve.com">DAltamura@compuserve.com

-----------------------------------------------------------------

 

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Well
could you possibly help me with my problem, I have opened a new drawing with a
scale of 1:50 so I’ve set the PSLTSCALE to '0' and LTSCALE to 350 but the line
type is not coming out right, if I do the same in R14 it works fine.

Just to let you know I always do this on all my drawings and it works fine
till now.

Is there a global variable that I don't know about?

Many Thanks

Jim

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-16-2002
Message 5 of 6 (1,502 Views)

Re: Dash line doesn't show in model layer

10-16-2002 12:53 AM in reply to: kn6398
Did you ever get this resolved? I am having the same problem. Using the advice found in this forum, I am able to change the scale so that the dashes show in either the layout or model. But, I cannot get them to show correctly in both. Any advice?
*TEW
Message 6 of 6 (1,502 Views)

Re:

10-17-2002 07:42 AM in reply to: kn6398
I did not see the previous post but did you try to
use psltscale? Example Ltscale = 48 and psltscale set to 1.

 

TEW


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Did
you ever get this resolved? I am having the same problem. Using the advice
found in this forum, I am able to change the scale so that the dashes show in
either the layout or model. But, I cannot get them to show correctly in both.
Any advice?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community