AutoCAD LT General

Reply
Ash
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-09-2003
Message 1 of 4 (54 Views)

Crashing when saving across network

54 Views, 3 Replies
01-09-2003 12:45 AM
does anyone know of how I might stop my computer crashing when saving across the network? If I save to the hard drive it is fine but across the network it displays a fatal error message.
*Saadallah, Dean
Message 2 of 4 (54 Views)

Re: Crashing when saving across network

01-10-2003 08:48 PM in reply to: Ash
Check with your network ADMIN: the issue is not AutoCAD, just
maybe the way it needs access to a folder to write temp files and
BAK file all over the place as well as SAVE your file, and your
ADMIN's settings for access for you to that folder.

ISAVEPERCENT set to 0 should be your default setting no matter
what BTW.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://www.pendean.com
LT Express utilities
http://www.pendean.com/ltexpress
Expanded Links Pages
http://www.pendean.com/lt/links.htm
--

"Ash" wrote in message
news:f136d5b.-1@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> does anyone know of how I might stop my computer crashing when
saving across the network? If I save to the hard drive it is fine
but across the network it displays a fatal error message.
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-10-2003
Message 3 of 4 (54 Views)

Re:

02-05-2003 05:02 AM in reply to: Ash
I'm having the same problem, except that I don't get an error message, the program just immediately closes. After some experimentation, I've determined that if I open a local file and try to "save as" on the network, it crashes. Same for if I create a new drawing using a local template then try to save to network. My solution? open, create and save in the same location, then move using file mananger.
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-10-2003
Message 4 of 4 (54 Views)

Re:

02-05-2003 05:05 AM in reply to: Ash
I was also experiencing immediate shutdowns when saving to the network, even though I have complete access. What I discovered is that it only happened when I opened a local file and tried to "save as" to the network. Same thing when I created a new file using a local template. My solution? don't mix local and network! use File Manager to move files instead.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community