AutoCAD LT General

Reply
New Member
stella_lelli
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-24-2011
Message 1 of 15 (1,651 Views)
Accepted Solution

Autocad 2012 LT copy paste fatal error!!!

1651 Views, 14 Replies
10-24-2011 02:51 AM

As topic title, I have just bought the software and I can't use it at all. Each and every single time I copy paste objects or images autocad crashes. I'm really disappointed!

Amazing if someone has the same problem

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,247
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 15 (1,633 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 LT copy paste fatal error!!!

10-25-2011 06:04 AM in reply to: stella_lelli
System details? OS? Video card?
Existing DWG files? New DWG files with newly created lines and circles also exhibit the problem if you copy paste them?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
stella_lelli
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-24-2011
Message 3 of 15 (1,629 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 LT copy paste fatal error!!!

10-25-2011 06:42 AM in reply to: pendean

I tried with another existing file and with a new file and everything has gone fine, so I suppoese the problem was in that first file. I recovered and repaired the file but the issue remains.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,247
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 15 (1,624 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 LT copy paste fatal error!!!

10-25-2011 07:22 AM in reply to: stella_lelli

Use EXPORTTOAUTOCAD command to create a new file out of the problem file, and see if the issue goes away.

If not, INSERT that problem file into a working/new file and test.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-29-2007
Message 5 of 15 (1,395 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 LT copy paste fatal error!!!

01-23-2012 08:54 AM in reply to: stella_lelli

Hello,

 

I have a similar problem. I'm using a trial of LT 2012 for evaluation before purchasing.

Crash after copy command. Doesn't happen in new fresh files.

I tried inserting (as a block) into a new file since seems that would be the only way to do it otherwise it would crash.

That worked.

I didn't find the EXPORTOAUTOCAD command in LT 2012. It says it doesn't exist.

I'm looking for a better solution for this before purchasing. Since I'd have to insert most drawings to be able to work.

I'm evaluating and if I can handle this I'll purchase a seat for now and evaluate it a bit more in production before buying the rest of the seats.

Does anyone have other data on this? (Mr.. Saadallah) or anyone else?

 

Dell Precision Workstation T3500: Intel Xeon CPU W3530 @2.80 GHz. 6GB RAM. Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit SP1. (2) x Nvidia Quadro 4000s

 

Thank you in advance,

Leonardo

Mentor
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
Message 6 of 15 (1,391 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 LT copy paste fatal error!!!

01-23-2012 09:20 AM in reply to: leonardoc

You need to type it as -EXPORTTOAUTOCAD (note the dash) or you can type AECTOACAD.

Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-29-2007
Message 7 of 15 (1,386 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 LT copy paste fatal error!!!

01-23-2012 10:01 AM in reply to: Johneng

This works. Thanks for your help Johneng and all.

So it definitely seems to be just an issue on objects or data from different versions, proxies, etc. and this export sort of flattens the file I'd say so it is basic lines, etc. that can be read with any version.

Maybe there is a way to automate this since one generally works with files with old bits of data on it.

Ideas anyone?

 

Thanks a lot...!!!...

Active Member
jvmdrafting
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-26-2012
Message 8 of 15 (1,364 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 LT copy paste fatal error!!!

01-26-2012 03:31 PM in reply to: stella_lelli

Hi, i am having same problem when do you type that command in is it when you have the drawing open or autocad lt 2012 program then type in command and export it in, because i have drawings from an older version autocad 2000 and i use alot of my drawings to do others. Can you help me please thanks.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,247
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 15 (1,348 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 LT copy paste fatal error!!!

01-27-2012 04:49 AM in reply to: jvmdrafting

The command is used while you have the file open in AutoCAD/LT.

 

There is no automation outside of LT to use it: full AutoCAD makes it a little easier with some programming, and the free viewer can do a whole stack of them at one time once you set up the output options. Just beware the viewer like to steal your DWG file in Windows from LT.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 10 of 15 (1,346 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 LT copy paste fatal error!!!

01-27-2012 04:52 AM in reply to: jvmdrafting

The Command is to help older versions of CAD use entities from newer versions.

Open your LT 2012 (these Save by default to release 2010) and run EXPROTTOAUTOCAD to save down for use in the Release 2000 version.

Opening a LT 2000 version file should not be a problem in LT 2012.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community