AutoCAD LT General

Reply
Contributor
Hope2010
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-07-2010
Message 1 of 17 (351 Views)

AutoCAD lt., 2008, Scales in PDF format Incorrectly

351 Views, 16 Replies
08-26-2013 03:51 PM

Yesterday, I sent a drawing that I scaled as 1/2" = 1'-0" in an Adobe PDF, and was told by the receiver that the drawing scale was off by 3-4% when they measured it. Hoping that is was the printer's problem, I sent a drawing from  another file to FEDEX, and went and scaled that one myself. Sure enough, it's off. It doesn't matter whether it is windowed or brought in a paper space viewport. It's just not right. Any help would be appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 17 (330 Views)

Re: AutoCAD lt., 2008, Scales in PDF format Incorrectly

08-27-2013 04:22 AM in reply to: Hope2010

One file or all files?

Can you post an example drawing?

Are you using the built in DWG to PDF or a third party PDF driver?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Contributor
Hope2010
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-07-2010
Message 3 of 17 (326 Views)

Re: AutoCAD lt., 2008, Scales in PDF format Incorrectly

08-27-2013 04:47 AM in reply to: Hope2010

Thank you Charles for responding to my inquiry. 

 

Yes, it appears to be all drawings in from at least three different files. 

 

It is going from my DWG to a Plot file from my Computer then sent as a PDF to an outside client who prints it off of their printer, but the same thing occured when I sent it to FEDEX.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,655
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 17 (321 Views)

Re: AutoCAD lt., 2008, Scales in PDF format Incorrectly

08-27-2013 05:41 AM in reply to: Hope2010

You are describing a commonf PDF rpinting issue from most PDF viewers: the user is not paying atttention to a default setting in most PDF drivers where the PAPER SCALING option is not actively set to NONE (it is by default set to FIT or SHRINK).

BTW, your entire 1/2" scale page does not print with NONE scaling set because you printed it much larger than a PDF margin will allow. probably why your client did what they did.

 

See screenshots. Either plot to a larger sheet size or split your floor plan into multiple PDF sheets: and remind the client about using the NONE scaling option.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
Hope2010
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-07-2010
Message 5 of 17 (311 Views)

Re: AutoCAD lt., 2008, Scales in PDF format Incorrectly

08-27-2013 06:32 AM in reply to: pendean

My AutoCAD Lt. does not give an option for FIt to Printable Area.

 

The Drawings is small and well within the page allotment or at least I would think so given the drawing size compared to the paper. 

 

Please see the screen shots I took.

 

Many thanks for your input.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,056
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 6 of 17 (308 Views)

Re: AutoCAD lt., 2008, Scales in PDF format Incorrectly

08-27-2013 07:10 AM in reply to: Hope2010

Pssst: "screen shot" is done with screen capture, not a camera.  You can use the "PRT SCR" key on your keyboard, then open Paint or another program and paste.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 7 of 17 (292 Views)

Re: AutoCAD lt., 2008, Scales in PDF format Incorrectly

08-27-2013 07:51 AM in reply to: Hope2010

Its not LT that is the issue it is the PDF Viewer that the end user is using.

This is from Foxit

 

PDF Print.jpg

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Contributor
Hope2010
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-07-2010
Message 8 of 17 (288 Views)

Re: AutoCAD lt., 2008, Scales in PDF format Incorrectly

08-27-2013 07:54 AM in reply to: dgorsman
I was wondering how that was done. Unfortunately, I don't think my AutoCAD Lt. 2008 is equipped with this feature.?
It won't let me type in PRT SCR in the command line without dropping off when I use the space bar between PRT and SCR, and
it's not showing up in any of the tool bar scrolls.

Thank you for telling me. Hopefully, someday when I can upgrade I'll get to use it!
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 9 of 17 (287 Views)

Re: AutoCAD lt., 2008, Scales in PDF format Incorrectly

08-27-2013 08:00 AM in reply to: Hope2010

Print Screen is on your keyboard above the Insert key, not in LT.

I use a third party program called Gadwin Printscreen; works very well.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,026
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 10 of 17 (280 Views)

Re: AutoCAD lt., 2008, Scales in PDF format Incorrectly

08-27-2013 08:17 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

OP you might also want to look into how to set your plot margins to zero for the intended paper size.

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community