AutoCAD LT General

Reply
Active Member
dwdeiss
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-29-2012
Message 1 of 58 (4,875 Views)

AutoCAD LT 2013 HATCH command freezes LT

4875 Views, 57 Replies
03-29-2012 03:27 PM

For those who are waiting to upgrade to AutoCAD LT 2013, you may want to wait until there is a service pack available to fix the HATCH command.  I upgraded today (via subscription), and I am having the same problem with the HATCH command that was present in AutoCAD LT 2012 (pre Service Pack 1).  I am trying to hatch using the Add: Pick points option for my boundary.  LT completely freezes up!  The drawing size is around 2.8 MB.  This is very frustrating!  HATCH Add: Pick points works on small drawings...but I need to HATCH on my current drawing, and shouldn't be required to draw PLINES around everything!  Rant is over.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 58 (4,866 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2013 HATCH command freezes LT

03-30-2012 03:58 AM in reply to: dwdeiss

HPORIGIN somewhere near where you are trying to Hatch?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Active Member
dwdeiss
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-29-2012
Message 3 of 58 (4,859 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2013 HATCH command freezes LT

03-30-2012 09:15 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Charles, thank you for your question!

 

HPORIGIN is set at 0, which puts the center of my hatch about -200' in the x and 300' in the y from where I want my hatch (I have a lot of stuff on this drawing).  I also tried setting HPORIGIN to 1 (bottom left hand corner of where I am trying to pick), and LT still freezes when I select Add: Pick point.  I tried setting HPORIGIN to 0,0.  LT freezes.  I tried "click to set new origin".  LT friezes.  Not sure what else to try.

Active Member
dwdeiss
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-29-2012
Message 4 of 58 (4,858 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2013 HATCH command freezes LT

03-30-2012 09:17 AM in reply to: dwdeiss

Just realized I typed friezes.  So hard to break out of architecture mode sometimes. :smileyhappy:

Active Member
dwdeiss
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-29-2012
Message 5 of 58 (4,856 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2013 HATCH command freezes LT

03-30-2012 09:20 AM in reply to: dwdeiss

...and I meant HPORIGINMODE.  Wow!  Need more coffee!

New Member
WAIDC
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 6 of 58 (4,576 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2013 HATCH command freezes LT

06-10-2012 03:40 PM in reply to: dwdeiss

Believe me, its not just LT that freezes. The full version freezes all the time. Enough is enough Autodesk, sort it out!

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,803
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 58 (4,569 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2013 HATCH command freezes LT

06-10-2012 07:12 PM in reply to: dwdeiss
Can't replicate here in my 5mb files: curious you found the limitation is related to file size. Can you share one?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
Jimfanuc
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-11-2012
Message 8 of 58 (4,551 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2013 HATCH command freezes LT

06-12-2012 10:17 AM in reply to: dwdeiss

Same thing on ACAD LT 2012.  My fix is to set "HPQUICKPREVIEW" to "OFF".  This fixed 2012.  You can try this in 2013.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,803
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 58 (4,549 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2013 HATCH command freezes LT

06-12-2012 10:28 AM in reply to: Jimfanuc

That's a popular fix.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
jhjirak
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Message 10 of 58 (4,546 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2013 HATCH command freezes LT

06-12-2012 10:48 AM in reply to: dwdeiss

Make sure that you dont have any hatch patern files (.pat) in the folders where you saved your drawings.  If you do it will crash the program when you try to hatch something with that .pat file.  Just move all those pattern files in another separate directory.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community