AutoCAD LT General

Reply
Valued Contributor
Fabulous1
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎11-25-2011
Message 1 of 14 (939 Views)

AutoCAD LT 2012 - Move and Stretch Base Point Selection Problems

939 Views, 13 Replies
02-10-2012 01:40 PM

Hello, I have posted this issue before, however it is continuing to be a problem.

 

The problem occurs as follows (move command as an example):  I select my objects to move, then I select my Base Point to move my objects away from, then when I select my destination point the command changes the Base Point to the selected destination point and asks me again to select a destination point.

 

I have realized this problem occurs not only with the move command, but also the stretch command. Also, it does not matter if I am using command modifiers or not, the problem occurs regardless.  Also, it does not matter how I hit enter using the command (keyboard enter button, space bar, or right mouse button) the problem occurs regardless, and occurs entirely AT RANDOM.

 

Following previous suggestions here is what I have attempted to resolve the problem:

 

 - remove the AutoCAD LT 2012 from the computer entirely and re-install

 - installed the latest LT 2012 Service Pack

 - changed the mouse to a new, wired mouse (I was already using a wired mouse in the first place)

 - change the keyboard (which I think is irrelevant since changing the mouse did not work either)

 

Is anyone else having this problem? Does anyone know something to fix it?

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 14 (930 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2012 - Move and Stretch Base Point Selection Problems

02-13-2012 04:38 AM in reply to: Fabulous1

Did we ask you to go thru this exercise when uninstalling?:

Remove Autodesk Products:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?linkID=9240817&id=2887771&siteID=123112

 

Any third party programs installed with the CAD?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Valued Contributor
Fabulous1
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎11-25-2011
Message 3 of 14 (928 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2012 - Move and Stretch Base Point Selection Problems

02-13-2012 05:20 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

 

Yes, I did go through the computer and removed all applications related to AutoCAD.

 

No, I do not believe there were any 3rd party applications installed with the AutoCAD; the download for the software came directly from Autodesk and I was not asked to install anything other than AutoCAD LT during the install process.

 

Any suggestions to the source of the problem?

 

Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 4 of 14 (926 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2012 - Move and Stretch Base Point Selection Problems

02-13-2012 05:51 AM in reply to: Fabulous1

No, like your last thread I've never seen or read anything like what you are describing.

Other than the From modifier doing what it is supposed to do but as I've said, looks normal here.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Valued Contributor
Fabulous1
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎11-25-2011
Message 5 of 14 (923 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2012 - Move and Stretch Base Point Selection Problems

02-13-2012 06:24 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Computers and software can do some crazy things and the source of a problem can be where you would never expect.  We are going to experiment by installing this version of AutoCAD onto another computer and starting all drawings from scratch without copy/pasting anything from other drawings.  If that doesn't work . . .

 

Is there any way that I could contact Autodesk to discuss if there is any way to conclusively prove that the problem is or is not in the software? A 1-800 number or an E-mail form?  I have not yet found anything in the Autodesk website along these lines.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,655
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 14 (912 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2012 - Move and Stretch Base Point Selection Problems

02-13-2012 11:18 AM in reply to: Fabulous1

Installation Help from Autodesk:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/bd-p/24

Autodesk support is now on Twitter 24/5 (@autodeskcare): http://autode.sk/sbGrpx

Up & Ready Installation and Startup Help (free for new installs):
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=2786107&linkID=9240817

Safety Net / Per Incident Autodesk support (not free):
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=15892664&linkID=9240817

If you are on subscription, visit your Autodesk
Subscription Page for direct Autodesk Help:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=2915212&linkID=9240817

If you are not on subscription, get it.

Customer Error Reporting:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=7047344&linkID=9240817

Different options that are available for self-help
technical support from Autodesk Product Support
E-Services:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ylj0o-R_Zn0

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
DominicAL
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-11-2012
Message 7 of 14 (834 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2012 - Move and Stretch Base Point Selection Problems

04-11-2012 01:45 PM in reply to: Fabulous1

I am having the same issue and it is very frustrating it seems to start when moving stuff in model space through a viewport or on paper space and then it seems to stay with that drawing after the error occurs once.

New Member
Kuubik
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-14-2010
Message 8 of 14 (654 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2012 - Move and Stretch Base Point Selection Problems

07-26-2012 11:45 PM in reply to: Fabulous1

I have same problem and it is very annoying. Occurs absolutely random and usually in succession.

Member
jayd.snell
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-16-2012
Message 9 of 14 (604 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2012 - Move and Stretch Base Point Selection Problems

08-16-2012 07:51 AM in reply to: Fabulous1

I am having the exact same problem. I did a fresh installation of AutoCAD Design Suites 2013 installed and I was not having this problem at all for months. It just started yesterday and I have since removed and reinstalled without it being fixed. The most annoying part is that it happens at random and a random amount of times. Sometimes it strings 3 or 4 new base points together.

Valued Contributor
Fabulous1
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎11-25-2011
Message 10 of 14 (598 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2012 - Move and Stretch Base Point Selection Problems

08-16-2012 08:43 AM in reply to: Fabulous1

Yep, that's the problem.  I have to say it but I am glad to see that it has carried over to 2013 versions.  I've reported this "bug" to Autodesk a couple months ago but no one has provided a solution.  It's been explained to me that it can be a problem with the software interfacing with your hardware (processor, mouse, or both).  I have used 3 different mice now and that problem still occurs at random.

 

Is your computer a "workstation" built by a brand (HP, Dell, etc.)?  At my old company I had a custom built computer with an independent graphics card and the whole bit; NEVER had problems like this. However we were using "outdated" AutoCAD 2006.  I come to my new company and start using 2012 on a "workstation" that uses the factory installed motherboard graphics and now I am having all sorts of troubles.  I am about to try using AutoCAD LT 2012 on a different computer with an independent graphics card.  If that doesn't resolve the issue than I'll be speaking with Autodesk again.

 

I am not a software programmer, but I would be surprised that Autodesk would have needed to tinker with the code for the stretch or move commands while adding new commands and other advancements to the software.  The command has worked perfectly fine for more than a decade!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community