AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
New Member
33billy00
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Message 1 of 10 (12,988 Views)

Windows 7 compatibility with Autocad lt 2002

12988 Views, 9 Replies
02-05-2010 04:45 PM
I recently bought a new computer and installed Autocad LT 2002. After I installed it, I started to draw a project out and about 5 min in it locks up and gives me an internal error gedit 3. I have looked at the forums and tried most of the options but cannot find updates.

Does anyone have any ideas, any patches or updates for LT2002?

Wyatt
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 10 (12,988 Views)

Re: Windows 7 compatibility with Autocad lt 2002

02-06-2010 06:16 AM in reply to: 33billy00
http://www.google.com/search?q=LT2002+GEDIT3&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:smileysurprised:fficial&cli...

{color:#008000}Investigate, Explore, Do...{color}

Good luck with the reading. Autodesk stopped worrying about 2002 about 5 years ago. The error is probably an incompatible program operating in the rear. Start turning off background apps to you find the offender or move into LT 2010, maybe even 2011 in March.
Regards, Charles Shade
Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
New Member
33billy00
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Message 3 of 10 (12,988 Views)

Re: Windows 7 compatibility with Autocad lt 2002

02-07-2010 03:33 PM in reply to: 33billy00
I have found a solution to my problem with windows 7. Windows 7 offers an XP mode. Once that was installed, all of the errors went away and Autocad Lt 2002 runs great.
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 4 of 10 (12,988 Views)

Re: Windows 7 compatibility with Autocad lt 2002

02-08-2010 06:04 AM in reply to: 33billy00
Thanks for posting the solution.
Regards, Charles Shade
Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
New Member
kcbi
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
Message 5 of 10 (12,988 Views)

Re: Windows 7 compatibility with Autocad lt 2002

04-12-2010 08:55 PM in reply to: 33billy00
I have installed Autocad LT 2002 on my new computer that runs Windows 7. I need to purchase Windows 7 Professional to be able to run in XP mode. Will running Autocad LT 2002 in XP mode fix the GETID 3 Error? Does running Windows 7 in XP mode allow Autocad LT 2002 to run properly?
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 6 of 10 (12,988 Views)

Re: Windows 7 compatibility with Autocad lt 2002

04-13-2010 05:17 AM in reply to: 33billy00
Maybe. While you wait conduct a Google search and see what you can find.
Autodesk keeps patches and updates for previous versions available that were created way back when.
Have you checked here to see if your install is fully patched?: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/linkedsumindex?siteID=123112&id=2334430&linkID=9240818
Regards, Charles Shade
Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
New Member
bbunt_r
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 7 of 10 (12,930 Views)

Re: Windows 7 compatibility with Autocad lt 2002

06-17-2010 09:45 AM in reply to: 33billy00

seem to have the same problem. was that XP mode running as a virtual PC in Win 7 Professional, ultimate or enterprise ?

XP mode is not included in Win 7 Home Premium. or were you running the program compatibiity utility ?

thanks

New Member
NEWGRANDMA
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-30-2012
Message 8 of 10 (5,180 Views)

Re: Windows 7 compatibility with Autocad lt 2002

12-31-2012 08:17 AM in reply to: 33billy00

PRIOR TO PURCHASING A NEW LAPTOP I RESEARCHED THE COMPATABILITY OF WINDOWS 7 AND AUTOCAD LT 2002.  I UPGRADED THE OS TO WINDOWS 7 PROFESSIONAL AND THEN ADDED VIRTUAL XP.

AFTER INSTALLING AUTOCAD LT 2002, I ENCOUNTERED THE FOLLOWING PROBLEMS:

1 - CURSOR HOVERS OVER CROSSHAIRS

2-  IMPOSSIBLE TO INSERT BLOCKS - BLOCK, CURSOR AND CROSSHAIRS FLOAT WITH JERKING MOTIONS OVER THE ENTIRE SCREEN.  BLOCK WILL NOT LAND WHERE I TRY TO POINT FOR LOCATION.

3 -  OSNAPS DO NOT CLICK AS SET

4 - THE PROGRAM IS EXTREMELY SLOW.

 

NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS TO FIND A SOLUTION HAVE RESULTED IN MORE CONFUSION.  ATTACHED IS THE MOST DIRECT APPROACH BUT WITH A LIMITED KNOWLEDGE OF THE WORKINGS OF THE OS I'VE BEEN HESITANT TO TRY ANYTHING MORE THAN WORKING ON MY 7 YEAR OLD DESKTOP AND TURNING OFF THE NEW LAPTOP.

PERHAPS SOMEONE MORE KNOWLEDGABLE IN COMPUTER TECHNOLOGY COULD REVIEW THIS DOCUMENT AND REPLY.

 

I MUST SAY THAT IN REVIEW FORUMS ON THE ISSUE I'M NOT ALONE IN WANTING TO USE AN OLDER PROGRAM.  I MUST VOICE MY DISAPPOINTMENT IN THE LACK OF SUPPORT FROM THE SOFTWARE MANUFACTURERS FOR THESE OLDER PROGRAMS.  I PREFER DOS COMMANDS TO GENERATE DRAWINGS.  IN GENERATING ONLY 2D FILES THE PROGRAM I HAVE IS MORE THAN SUFFICIENT.  I USE THE NEWER PROGRAMS IN OTHER OFFICES AND I STILL PREFER THE OLDER VERSIONS.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,125
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 10 (5,171 Views)

Re: Windows 7 compatibility with Autocad lt 2002

12-31-2012 11:40 AM in reply to: NEWGRANDMA

Try searching these forums, there are many tips from users like yourself. Try them all, there is no magic bullet solution.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
NEWGRANDMA
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-30-2012
Message 10 of 10 (4,315 Views)

Re: Windows 7 compatibility with Autocad lt 2002

03-26-2013 11:35 AM in reply to: bbunt_r

VIRTUAL XP MODE RUNNING IN WINDOWS 7 PROFESSIONAL.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.