AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
New Member
phoenixacadLT
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2013
Message 1 of 5 (214 Views)
Accepted Solution

Want to reinstall 2012 LT on new PC but do not have original installation file

214 Views, 4 Replies
01-03-2013 10:30 AM

I want to use the license transfer tool to reinstall 2012 LT on a new machine.

 

However, I don't have the original installation file I used to install it before, and if I try to download a new file, it is the newer 2013 LT install file.

 

I don't know if the old 2012 LT license will work with a new 2013 install, and I don't want to try it unless I know it will work.

 

Is there any other way of obtaining the 2012 LT 64-bit install file through AutoDesk again?

 

Peter Alexander

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,427
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 2 of 5 (208 Views)

Re: Want to reinstall 2012 LT on new PC but do not have original installation

01-03-2013 10:51 AM in reply to: phoenixacadLT

There sure is Peter! I just sent you a Private Message (envelope next to your username once logged into the forums) with a direct download link. For future reference you can request supported previous version media / download links directly here.

 

I also wanted to let you know that activating the 2013 software with your 2012 licensing credentials would not work.

 

Please accept as a solution if this fully resolves the inquiry, or reply with additional specifics as needed.



Philip Schmelzer
New Member
phoenixacadLT
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2013
Message 3 of 5 (198 Views)

Re: Want to reinstall 2012 LT on new PC but do not have original installation fi

01-03-2013 12:21 PM in reply to: phoenixacadLT

Many thanks, very much appreciated!

New Member
rob.anderson
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-16-2013
Message 4 of 5 (63 Views)

Re: Want to reinstall 2012 LT on new PC but do not have original installation fi

10-16-2013 09:33 AM in reply to: phoenixacadLT

I have a similar issue. My company upgraded my computer from XP to Win 7 and it wiped Autocad from my system.

 

I just downloaded what I think is the right file to re-install, but now not sure if I am doing it correctly.

 

I have the original media case, with product key and serial number but not the original media.

 

Will this work?

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 5 of 5 (55 Views)

Re: Want to reinstall 2012 LT on new PC but do not have original installation fi

10-16-2013 11:43 AM in reply to: rob.anderson

Welcome to the Autodesk Forums!

 

As long as the program you downloaded matches the program that the Serial Number is tied to all you should have to do in enter the Serial Number and Product Code when asked to Register.

Product codes are Google searchable.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.