Community
AutoCAD LT Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD LT Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD LT topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Migrating to AutoCAD LT

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
paul
424 Views, 4 Replies

Migrating to AutoCAD LT

Hi all,

I'm migrating from Microstation V8XM to AutoCAD LT 2014 (I only do 2D schematics etc...).  I'm an engineer and by no means a Microstation expert, but knew enough to get my work done.

One of the features I most liked/used in Microstation was when moving objects, I could re-zero the relative distance anywhere by simply pressing '0', and then I could also do basic math calculations by typring them straight into the relative distance fields, allowing me to better align new objects in drawings.  Note that I already know how to align off existing objects, but I want to say move or copy an object by displacing it X/Y by zeroing off somewhere and typing straight in...

How do I do that in AutoCAD LT 2014?

Cheers and thanks for reading,

Paul

Tags (3)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
dgorsman
in reply to: paul

If I read that right, a combination of relative coordinate entry and/or "From..." should do what you are asking.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
"I don't know" is the beginning of knowledge, not the end.

Message 3 of 5
paul

Thanks so much for the reply.  Do I enter the command 'From' into the relative displacement field?  I tried searching for the command 'From' for more information and I can't find it in the manual...?  Where do I find other commands that I can enter into the displacement field?

Perhaps let me better describe the problem...  I was quite tired last night and it didn't make a lot of sense.  I really appreciate you trying to answer this!