Community
AutoCAD LT Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD LT Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD LT topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linetypes

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
acuthbert
240 Views, 3 Replies

Linetypes

Hi there,

I am new to AutoCAD and I'm having trouble changing some line types.
What I want to to is modify some line segments to become dashed lines instead of continuous lines. The segments I want to change are in a layer with a whole bunch of other lines that I don't care about. I have been able to change these to a dashed line but the dashes are not visible in the paperspace. I want to be able to change the dashes so they are visible.
Would it be easier to create a new layer with the linetype properties that I want and to copy my segments there? If so, how can I copy objects into a new layer?

Thanks,
-Andy
3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
Modman_4
in reply to: acuthbert

Which version are you on? In 2008 and newer you start a fresh drawing and set the CANNOSCALE in modelspace by selecting a scale from the list at the bottom on the taskbar. Modelspace is still 1:1 but this setting allows the program to adjust the scale you view your linetypes at.

Next you make sure LTSCALE, MSLTSCALE, PSLTSCALE & CELTSCALE are all set to 1. Now, go into the linetype manager to look for examples of the linetypes you wish to use. AutoCAD has 3 versions of a lot of the common ones -- this represents different scales, an average one, a double-scale one and a half-scale one. Load all of them and test out lines for each of them, and make your selections based on how they appear to you in modelspace. Changing the CANNOSCALE will change their appearance, so you can see what they'd look like in a 1/4" scale drawing for instance, versus a 1" = 30'-0" drawing. This is why if you do a lot of detail drawing you should set the CANNOSCALE for that detail scale before making your decisions.