AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
mikeg808
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-11-2000
Message 1 of 8 (191 Views)
Accepted Solution

LT 2011Select File Dialog Box

191 Views, 7 Replies
03-11-2014 06:58 AM

I just got a new computer and reloaded LT 2011. When i click open to select a file in my directory it starts at the top of the directory and i scroll to find the file. Open the file and then when i go to get the next file in the series it starts at the top of the directory in the select file dialog box. On my last computer when i opened the select file dialog box would start at the last location. How do i set this to open at the last file location?

Distinguished Mentor
JoAnn_Hogan
Posts: 527
Registered: ‎06-25-2012
Message 2 of 8 (186 Views)

Re: LT 2011Select File Dialog Box

03-11-2014 07:12 AM in reply to: mikeg808

 Hi Mike

 

Do you have all the relevant service packs installed? 

Please let me know if this helps
Jo (P.S follow me on twitter @JoAnn_Hogan)

If this post solved your issue please mark as solved and Kudos are always welcome =)

AutoCAD Certified Professional 2014 / Inventor Certified Professional 2014
Valued Mentor
sthompson1021
Posts: 474
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 3 of 8 (177 Views)

Re: LT 2011Select File Dialog Box

03-11-2014 07:42 AM in reply to: mikeg808

Hi, set the REMEMBERFOLDERS sys variable to 1

Active Member
mikeg808
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-11-2000
Message 4 of 8 (154 Views)

Re: LT 2011Select File Dialog Box

03-11-2014 11:07 AM in reply to: mikeg808
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,125
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 8 (150 Views)

Re: LT 2011Select File Dialog Box

03-11-2014 11:22 AM in reply to: mikeg808
I would try the simpler fix "Hi, set the REMEMBERFOLDERS sys variable to 1" first.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
mikeg808
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-11-2000
Message 6 of 8 (144 Views)

Re: LT 2011Select File Dialog Box

03-11-2014 11:44 AM in reply to: mikeg808

Did the rememberfolders sys variable at the CMD line and it is set to 1. I also have full read/write access. I can get the program to remember the folder i was in. I can't remember how to set it to remember last location. In the pic it shows i am about to select file ID13297-1A, when i open again it should stay on the file i just opened so i am able to get to the next drawing ID13297-2A easier than scrolling down to it from the top

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,125
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 8 (132 Views)

Re: LT 2011Select File Dialog Box

03-12-2014 01:58 AM in reply to: mikeg808
Do you have file extensions set to show in Windows Explorer on your new PC? Required if you want the feature you are now describing.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
mikeg808
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-11-2000
Message 8 of 8 (117 Views)

Re: LT 2011Select File Dialog Box

03-12-2014 01:00 PM in reply to: mikeg808

Thanks for your help. It was the file extension.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.