AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
PatrikLundqvist
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-17-2003
Message 1 of 14 (511 Views)

How to turn on "Large number of annotation scales" dialog

511 Views, 13 Replies
04-27-2012 01:44 AM

If I accidently turned it off and can not find it in the Hiddeen Messages Settings dialog, is there a variable or registry key or other trick to turn it on again? Hav searched everywhere but can not find a solution..

 

Would be interested in a variable for the "missing shx files" dialog as well.

 

Kind regards Patrik

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,848
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 14 (496 Views)

Re: How to turn on "Large number of annotation scales" dialog

04-27-2012 05:20 AM in reply to: PatrikLundqvist

ANNOAUTOSCALE variable?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
PatrikLundqvist
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-17-2003
Message 3 of 14 (492 Views)

Re: How to turn on "Large number of annotation scales" dialog

04-27-2012 06:31 AM in reply to: pendean

Hi!

 

No, the problem is the old bug with anExcessive amount of Annotation scales when using ACAD 2008 without SP1.

When opening a drawing with Excessive scale lists in a newer version you are normally prompted if you want ACAD to reset the scalelist. A client clicked "Always perform this option" and chose NO by mistake. The result is that the dialog is not showing anymore which is usually resetted in the Options-Systems-Hidden Messages Settings dialog.

However the Ecsessive scale list option doesnt come up in the list, which is why I wondered if there is a setting somewhere to get the dialog back?

Hope this clarified my question a bit..

(Im aware of how to manually doing this, or Scale list utillity, but the client want this to be automatically corrected..)

 

Kind regards

/Patrik 

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 4 of 14 (490 Views)

Re: How to turn on "Large number of annotation scales" dialog

04-27-2012 06:37 AM in reply to: PatrikLundqvist

You need to run this on your files:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=11062617&linkID=9240818

 

And install the Service Packs:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/index?siteID=123112&id=2334435&linkID=9240818

 

Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
_____________________________________________________________

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Active Contributor
PatrikLundqvist
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-17-2003
Message 5 of 14 (488 Views)

Re: How to turn on "Large number of annotation scales" dialog

04-27-2012 06:57 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Hi!

 

My client has updated servicepacks and as I wrote Scale list Utillity is not an option because the client dont want to do this manually everytime new files are sent with 100s of scalelists. (The problem is already in the files, created by ACAD 2008 users long time ago..) and they keep coming...

 

So what we need is to turn on this dialog again, check always perform this action... and choose YES..

Any moore ideas?

 

Excessive scale dialog.png

*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,695
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 6 of 14 (485 Views)

Re: How to turn on "Large number of annotation scales" dialog

04-27-2012 07:17 AM in reply to: PatrikLundqvist

Tools > Options > System Tab has the Hidden Messages settings selections

 

HTH

 

Regards,

DJ

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 7 of 14 (483 Views)

Re: How to turn on "Large number of annotation scales" dialog

04-27-2012 07:23 AM in reply to: PatrikLundqvist

PatrikLundqvist wrote:

Hi!

 

No, the problem is the old bug with anExcessive amount of Annotation scales when using ACAD 2008 without (emphasis added) SP1.


Kind regards

/Patrik 


Install the Service Pack

 

Correct all the drawings one time with the Utility.

Cure the sickness and stop trying to manage the symptom.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,695
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 8 of 14 (478 Views)

Re: How to turn on "Large number of annotation scales" dialog

04-27-2012 07:51 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

IMHO  the question appears to be:

 

So what we need is to turn on this dialog again, check always perform this action... and choose YES.

 

I don't think he wants to " ... cure the sicknes ... " I think he wants to turn on the warning pop-up again.

 

 

Regards,

DJ

 

Active Contributor
PatrikLundqvist
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-17-2003
Message 9 of 14 (474 Views)

Re: How to turn on "Large number of annotation scales" dialog

04-27-2012 07:57 AM in reply to: PatrikLundqvist

Thanks everyone for trying o help, but you are not reading my post.

 

I know where the hidden Messages settings are, problem is that the Scalelist option doesnt turn up there..

 

Curing the files wont help, it will only be a temporary solution, since there will be moore and moore corrupt files coming in from different sources/projects..(this is a common problem here..) I understand that the client doesnt want to correct the files manually when there is an automatic solution in ACAD. If it was full ACAD I would just write a simple lisp..

 

All I need is to turn on the dialog in some other way than using HMS since it for some reaon doesnt turn up in the list..

Surely these settings (as well as the missing shx files f e..) must be saved somwhere?

 

Kind regards Patrik

 

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,848
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 10 of 14 (470 Views)

Re: How to turn on "Large number of annotation scales" dialog

04-27-2012 08:11 AM in reply to: PatrikLundqvist

Autodesk recommended uninstall and reinstall procedures:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=10243968&linkID=9240617

These messages should be the the HMS section, if not, you might have to go exploring in the Windows Registry.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community