AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
john804
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎03-24-2006
Message 1 of 11 (2,117 Views)

Disadvantages to using AutoCAD LT?

2117 Views, 10 Replies
12-14-2009 11:35 AM
I'm going to work with a client who's got LT and is asking what, if any, disadvantages there are. He basically wants to dimension, draw multiple views and use xrefs. I'm sure there is a bit more to it, but until I get my hands dirty with it I won't know all this project will entail.

So, what are some hindrances to using LT? I assume I'll be able to do the above. What will I NOT be able to do?

Thanks

On a related note: if anyone is looking for an experienced AutoCAD designer in the Portland, Or area, let me know!
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 11 (2,117 Views)

Re: Disadvantages to using AutoCAD LT?

12-14-2009 12:01 PM in reply to: john804
I should think perceived limitations would require anyone here to know what platform you are coming from...
Regards, Charles Shade
Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Distinguished Contributor
john804
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎03-24-2006
Message 3 of 11 (2,117 Views)

Re: Disadvantages to using AutoCAD LT?

12-14-2009 12:15 PM in reply to: john804
Of course. Autocad 2008 is what I currently use, but the general question is LT vs full really.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 4 of 11 (2,117 Views)

Re: Disadvantages to using AutoCAD LT?

12-14-2009 12:26 PM in reply to: john804
LT what? It's a version of AutoCAD and comes in the same versions.
And you are what, new to R2008, been using it since R2008, an AutoCAD user
since R1? Do you really know AutoCAD, or just which button to push to get
what you need?

Your post is light on details, for which you can always help yourself on the
internet with queries like this
http://www.google.com/search?q=comparing+autocad+and+lt&rls=com.microsoft:en-us:IE-SearchBox&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&sourceid=ie7&rlz=1I7HPND_en

Happy reading.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Distinguished Contributor
john804
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎03-24-2006
Message 5 of 11 (2,117 Views)

Re: Disadvantages to using AutoCAD LT?

12-14-2009 12:48 PM in reply to: john804
Hmm. Didn't realize it was light on details. Sorry about that. If you're looking for a personal bio, I am currently setting up a linkedin account and can provide that shortly.

As it stands, I want to know the difference between Autocad regular and Autocad LT. If it's critical, I'm a veteran in CAD, just not LT.

And Dean, last I checked, these Autocad forums are connected to the internet -- and I'm getting help from fine people such as yourself. Please, you don't have to be rude.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 6 of 11 (2,117 Views)

Re: Disadvantages to using AutoCAD LT?

12-14-2009 01:23 PM in reply to: john804
Nope, just trying to understand where you are coming from so that we all
avoid fluff replies like "no 3D, no SSM, no Lisp, No Express Tools" baloney.

No rudeness implied, if you read it that way, I apologize: a Google search
often answers queries like yours without a re-hash, as does a search around
the LT area you are posting in. Surprisingly, 90% of questions asked,
including yours, are never unique nor do they require posting and waiting to
be handed information already out there.

You still did not answer the LT question I posed, if you still want a reply
here: LT2010 added features not found in lower versions for example. Same
with LT2009 and lower.

Be specific at any user forum at any vendor website, otherwise use Google
for general questions and queries.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Distinguished Contributor
john804
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎03-24-2006
Message 7 of 11 (2,117 Views)

Re: Disadvantages to using AutoCAD LT?

12-14-2009 01:33 PM in reply to: john804
Well what I was looking for was essentially a rundown of the differences and similarities between full and lt. I checked out your link and found a nice pdf chart that was quite helpful.

Thanks for your help -- even without any of my specific details :smileywink:
And sorry about the hyper sensitive tone of my first reply. Text doesn't always get the gist across quite as well as we may like.

Regards
*Dean Saadallah
Message 8 of 11 (2,117 Views)

Re: Disadvantages to using AutoCAD LT?

12-14-2009 01:35 PM in reply to: john804
No problem, I tend to write in short sentences out of habit and it comes
across as aggressive sometimes :smileyhappy:

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 9 of 11 (2,117 Views)

Re: Disadvantages to using AutoCAD LT?

12-15-2009 11:43 AM in reply to: john804
Your main differences are going to be in the lack of anything but the most basic 3D capability, and no Sheet Set Manager. Oh and no Expresstools, except I know the full version has the layer tools in the main program (not sure about LT).

The other thing will be if you are going from 2008 to a newer version you are in for a shock. How are you at typing shortcuts? You may need them. Also, use the help screen to find out how to bring up the "classic" menu...
I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
*Dean Saadallah
Message 10 of 11 (2,117 Views)

Re: Disadvantages to using AutoCAD LT?

12-15-2009 12:27 PM in reply to: john804
Priceless :smileyhappy:)

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community