AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Member
bfc380
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-05-2010
Message 1 of 16 (1,530 Views)

Custom Hatch AutoCad LT

1530 Views, 15 Replies
01-05-2010 02:17 PM
I have updated the .pat file, as well as tried to add hatch pattern files separately (in the folder with the the acadlt.pat and acadltiso.pat files already in it). AutoCad 2010 LT starts up fine, but no sign of the hatch patterns anywhere - either predefined list or custom.
Anyone have any ideas whay the...is going on ? (or not going on) I've used these patterns before with no problem.
(and I have the blank line at the end of the pattern)

Thanks !

D.Grant
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 16 (1,530 Views)

Re: Custom Hatch AutoCad LT

01-05-2010 08:12 PM in reply to: bfc380
1. Never ever add to the core ACADLT.PAT file IMHO

2. You probably have more tan one .PAT file, how do you know you got the
correct one?

3. separate pat files, one definition for each pat file, pat file name is
exactly the name of the pattern, one blank line at the end of the
definition, pat files located in LT's search path, Use get to them using the
CUSTOM hatch option on the hatch dialog box. That's how it is done.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 3 of 16 (1,530 Views)

Re: Custom Hatch AutoCad LT

01-06-2010 04:44 AM in reply to: bfc380
Mine hang out in the Support Folder.
Regards, Charles Shade
Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Member
bfc380
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-05-2010
Message 4 of 16 (1,530 Views)

Re: Custom Hatch AutoCad LT

01-06-2010 06:23 AM in reply to: bfc380
Hi - thanks for your response.

I have several .pat hatch patterns that I copied & pasted from a previous autocad version, so I know they work. I put them in the same folder as the acadlt.pat file, and nothing. I put them in the Acad Lt support folder and nothing. No error messages either. I've checked my file path, and it's looking where they are..but no custom files are appearing when I'm using AutoCad LT. Nor do they appear in the predefined pattern area, if I amend the acadlt.pat and acadltiso.pat files A real mystery.
Member
bfc380
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-05-2010
Message 5 of 16 (1,530 Views)

Re: Custom Hatch AutoCad LT - UPDATE

01-06-2010 06:31 AM in reply to: bfc380
The custom files are now showing ! But I have to click on the box with the small hatch sample to see them - the text (showing hatch names) area was blank. I can also click on the dots to the right of the box to see them. Still a bit of a mystery, but it's working ! Thanks again for your help.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 6 of 16 (1,530 Views)

Re: Custom Hatch AutoCad LT - UPDATE

01-06-2010 01:26 PM in reply to: bfc380
Hatch Pattern Palette Dialog Box > Custom > yours appear here... it's how
AutoCAD has always worked and still do.

What are you doing differently now, or in the older version? Just curious.

And why are you not simply making a toolpalette out of your custom hatches
for easier access? Or accessing them through ADCENTER command?

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Active Member
seaboard
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 7 of 16 (1,530 Views)

Re: Custom Hatch AutoCad LT - UPDATE

02-22-2010 04:08 AM in reply to: bfc380
What did you do exactly? I'm having the same problem. I goto Documents & Settings-Administrator-Application Data-AutoCad LT 2010-R15-enu-Support- and then drag and drop pat files into the acadltiso.pat file.
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 8 of 16 (1,530 Views)

Re: Custom Hatch AutoCad LT - UPDATE

02-22-2010 04:32 AM in reply to: bfc380
Check answer in latter thread.
Regards, Charles Shade
Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 9 of 16 (1,530 Views)

Re: Custom Hatch AutoCad LT - UPDATE

02-24-2010 12:18 PM in reply to: bfc380
...again something worth the price of admission! :smileyvery-happy:
I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
Active Member
dustbear
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-27-2008
Message 10 of 16 (1,530 Views)

Re: Custom Hatch AutoCad LT

02-26-2010 10:13 AM in reply to: bfc380
I am having the same problem in AutoCAD 2010 (not LT). I have a bunch of .pat custom hatches, and need to get them linked to the custom hatch tab. Each .pat file is a separate pattern. Where do I put the .pat files? I cannot cut and paste them into the acad.pat file in Notepad, it won't work. Do I link it from the Options box? I did this successfully in an earlier version, but can't remember how.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community