AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
SolarCadTech
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-05-2011
Message 1 of 6 (2,608 Views)

Creating a drop-down menu IN a drawing

2608 Views, 5 Replies
05-05-2011 08:38 AM

how can i insert/add/create a drop-down (pull-down) menu in an autocad drawing ?

 

i need to be able to input data in a series of charts, and i need to be able to choose the data from

drop-down menues that include specific (repeated) information.

this is also needed so the input process can work on touch devices without needing to type input.

 

also, can this be done by a dynamic link to MS Exel (OLE object) sheet ?

 

thanks!

 

autocadLT2011

i7-M620@2.67GHz

8GB ram

64bit

 


autocadLT2011
i7-M620@2.67GHz
8GB ram
64bit
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,872
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 6 (2,606 Views)

Re: Creating a drop-down menu IN a drawing

05-05-2011 09:15 AM in reply to: SolarCadTech

CUI command is where you add or delete menu items, including drop-downs.

 

Next, you need to decide what the commands youo want to use, what they will do, and how: do you have that worked out at the commandline in AutoCAD yet?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
SolarCadTech
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-05-2011
Message 3 of 6 (2,604 Views)

Re: Creating a drop-down menu IN a drawing

05-05-2011 09:20 AM in reply to: pendean

thanks,

but i may have not explained what i am trying to do effectively.

 

i am not trying to add a MENU,

but rather to add a drop-down menu to a DRAWING.

as a way to input data to a chart (in a cad drawing).

similar to MS Excel feature of creating drop-down menus in sheets.

 

the drop-down menu element has to be integrated into an autocad chart dwg.

and obviously i need to be able to control the values/options in that drop down menu.

 

thanks.

 


autocadLT2011
i7-M620@2.67GHz
8GB ram
64bit
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 4 of 6 (2,600 Views)

Re: Creating a drop-down menu IN a drawing

05-05-2011 09:25 AM in reply to: SolarCadTech

The closest you may be able to come to something like that would be Visibility States or a Block Properties Table in a Dynamic Block. The block would reside in a cell-space in your Table.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,872
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 6 (2,594 Views)

Re: Creating a drop-down menu IN a drawing

05-05-2011 09:29 AM in reply to: SolarCadTech

There is no drop-down feature in tables, or AutoCAD's drawing area, like Excel: sounds like you need to use Excel.

Yes you can link Excel, but you use Excel and update in AutoCAD with every change.

 

>>>...i need to be able to input data in a series of charts, and i need to be able to choose the data from

drop-down menues that include specific (repeated) information.<<<

 

"charts" would be predefined tables in AutoCAD, you create them and INSERT as blocks. You can Automate with a menu pulldown menu or ribbon panel full on buttons too. If they are always dropped in one location, you can automate ERASE and INSERT in that one spot.

 

>>>...this is also needed so the input process can work on touch devices without needing to type input....<<<

 

Same limitation applies in this same program, regardless of your hardware.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 6 of 6 (2,572 Views)

Re: Creating a drop-down menu IN a drawing

05-05-2011 09:46 PM in reply to: SolarCadTech

I have a feeling you can solve this using hyperlinks in your drawing file.  You may have to include several links per "box" or selection area, but this may work.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community