AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,822
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 11 of 19 (407 Views)

Re: Certified Graphics for AutoCAD LT

08-23-2011 05:17 AM in reply to: ScottHodges

Depends on your definition of "3D". who's paying for your time and results, and time needed for changes.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
LEEPETERS5150
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 12 of 19 (261 Views)

Re: Certified Graphics for AutoCAD LT

02-20-2012 07:19 AM in reply to: Kate_LT

I am on my second high quilty laptop which keeps crashing the graphics card when I use auto cad LT.

 

First I bought a Dell XPS and it kept craching so I returdned that one and bought a HP pavilion dv7 and the same thing keeps happen with this one as well. I have gone back to a 5 year old Laptop to continue my work.

 

Does anyone have any ideas.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,822
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 13 of 19 (257 Views)

Re: Certified Graphics for AutoCAD LT

02-20-2012 08:57 AM in reply to: LEEPETERS5150

Are we to guess at your configurations, and what you have done to correct the issue, and are you able to share now:

LT version?

Exact Windows version included?
Actual Video card installed? Driver version? source of current driver?

Did you use 3DCONFIG command to add updates in LT2012? What was the outcome?

Did you use 3DCONFIG command to just change Hardware Acceleration? If it's on, turn it off. If it's off, turn it on.

Did you turn off Win7's Aero theme?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
LEEPETERS5150
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 14 of 19 (254 Views)

Re: Certified Graphics for AutoCAD LT

02-20-2012 09:09 AM in reply to: pendean

Wow!

 

sorry I should have thought to include more information,

 

I have today updated both drivers for the two cards that are in this laptop

 

TM HD Radeon 6490M

Mobile Intel HD Graphics

 

windows 7 Core i 7

 

Auto CAD LT 2012

 

The screen still goes black and then a error comes up saying the amd graphics stopped working but have restarted

Member
LEEPETERS5150
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 15 of 19 (251 Views)

Re: Certified Graphics for AutoCAD LT

02-20-2012 09:10 AM in reply to: pendean

Also Sorry

 

what is the config3D command ?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,822
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 16 of 19 (248 Views)

Re: Certified Graphics for AutoCAD LT

02-20-2012 09:44 AM in reply to: LEEPETERS5150

3DCONFIG command, look it up in HELP in LT2012: it does two things you've not done before posting, it updates your video card driver (if one is available) from Autodesk, and it also turns on/off Hardware Acceleration in LT2012.

 

And did you turn off Win7's AERO THEME yet? go with Windows Basic Theme, it solves a lot of problems for some folks, especially laptops.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
LEEPETERS5150
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 17 of 19 (235 Views)

Re: Certified Graphics for AutoCAD LT

02-21-2012 04:56 AM in reply to: pendean

Hi

 

Changed to basic theme last night and appears to have fixed it. Cant thankyou enough I have had this new Laptop for 5 months and not been able to use it.

 

Wish I would of ask sooner

 

Thanks agian

Member
tlcc
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-05-2009
Message 18 of 19 (208 Views)

Re: Certified Graphics for AutoCAD LT

02-27-2012 08:14 AM in reply to: Kate_LT

LOW-END Minimum Specs.

Out-of-work archi. (with minimum funds)  unfortunately needing a new computer. Found a good price on a HP laptop (i5, 2.4 GHz, 6Gb Ram, 614MB DDR3 SDRAM, w/ Turbo Boost 2.0), 3GHz dual core & Win7Premium (64bit).   It does NOT have a dedicated graphics card. The internal card is an Intel HD Graphics3000 w/ 1696 MB available graphics memory.

 

 

This is not meant to be a graphics work horse. I primarily used AutoCad LT.

 

BUT, I would also like to be able to run Revit (and Rhino) to practice. It is ok if it takes a little longer to render. I assumed if it would work for Revit, it should also work for LT 2012?

 

I checked the accepted graphics card list, and REVIT supposedly accepts the Intel HD "family" (with specific drivers), but other websites specifically warn agains Intel integrated  cards.

 

 I just want to make sure it will work at all -- not at lightening speed! Any advice?

 

Thanks in advance!

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 19 of 19 (203 Views)

Re: Certified Graphics for AutoCAD LT

02-27-2012 09:13 AM in reply to: tlcc

Download the Trial and see perhaps?

Revit Forum

 

Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
Kudos + gladly accepted if you are feeling magnanimous
_____________________________________________________________

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community