AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
New Member
have-none
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-31-2011
Message 1 of 4 (1,038 Views)

Autocad on Mac slow

1038 Views, 3 Replies
05-31-2011 02:03 PM

I just bought myself a MacbookPro 17", the newest (2,2-Ghz quad-core Intel Core i7, 4Gb DDR3, AMD Radeon HD 6750M graphic processor with 1 GB DDR5-memory).

 

Autocad LT runs via Parallels on Windows 7 Pro (2gb memory and 4cpu's installed, but parallels only allows 256Mb video memory) but big plans (>1Mb) are very hard to consult. The zooming in and out is going very very slow, and even panning the plan when it's zoomed out, is everything but fluid.

 

It runs a bit faster in Bootcamp, but still not as it should be.

 

I also downloaded the Autocad full version for Mac (trial version), to check if it would go faster when on MacOS, so it can use the complete memory, all CPU's, and the full video memory, but this doesn't go much faster either.

 

I do have to tell that I just started using Autocad and don't know if there are settings (or where I should edit these) to boost performance.

 

Anyone with tips?

 

Thanks in advance!

Member
biztrobill
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-18-2010
Message 2 of 4 (851 Views)

Re: Autocad on Mac slow

08-18-2011 04:39 PM in reply to: have-none

Hi, have-none.

 

It looks like your message is dated a couple of months ago and I don't see any replies. Maybe you have found your answer by now, but it's apparent that you don't have enough memory to run Autocad, much less Autocad in Parallels.

 

I began using LT 2011 in Parallels on my iMac, with 2 GB memory. It was VERY slow, so I upgraded to 4GB and my speed improved dramatically. Even with 4GB, I have to close my other apps to free up resources. It's a real pain, and frustrating because I don't feel like I'm getting all the benefits of using a Mac. 

 

I would recommend at least 4GB, if not 6 or 8GB memory if you run LT in Parallels. Hope this is useful. 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,823
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 4 (848 Views)

Re: Autocad on Mac slow

08-18-2011 04:48 PM in reply to: biztrobill
New Member
rteplow
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-31-2011
Message 4 of 4 (811 Views)

Re: Autocad on Mac slow

08-31-2011 07:25 AM in reply to: have-none

Hope your problems have been solved. 

 

I'm sorry that I'm not offering help here. Instead, I have to report that I'm having serious problems running AutoCAD LT 2010 on a Macbook Pro running Parallels 6 and Windows 7. It was fine until I installed an update last week.

 

I'm posting here because I can't seem to figure out how to start a new topic on this board.

 

Does anyone else have similar problems? Please help! Thanks in advance.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community