AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
epearson117
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
Message 1 of 33 (10,566 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

10566 Views, 32 Replies
03-07-2013 01:24 PM

I am unable to install AutoCad LT 2013 on my Windows 7 x64 system.  Everytime I try to install I get the error message:

 

"The system cannot open the device or file specified.

C:\Users\Eric\AppData\Local\Temp\_AI194B.tmp\x86\en-us\Components\adr2013\SetupDesignReview2013.msi."

 

I can go to that folder and that file is there.  However, if I try to run that file it then gives me errors about other missing files, that are not in that folder.

 

I have tried this with Multiple Logins, including the Adminstrator.  I have also, completely wiped out the system and reinstalled Windows 7 from scratch.

 

I have set the UAC to the lowest level.

 

I have also tried another DVD, and tried copying the files to the machine.  No matter what I try I get this same message.

 

One other thing, this is the 2013 Upgrade.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,852
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 33 (10,556 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

03-07-2013 02:59 PM in reply to: epearson117

Restart Windows and skip installing all the extra apps that got hung-up (read your error message carefully, it tells you which one). See if that helps.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
epearson117
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
Message 3 of 33 (10,529 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

03-08-2013 05:53 AM in reply to: pendean

Not sure I understand what you mean?  How do I "skip the install"...I am putting in the DVD and running the applciation...I have tried running the setup from the x64 folder on the dvd, but that didn't help either.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 4 of 33 (10,527 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

03-08-2013 05:56 AM in reply to: epearson117

Is there not a choice to install in a Custom way?

Pick and choose what to install?

Most installation programs have this option though I cannot rmember if CAD does.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Active Member
epearson117
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
Message 5 of 33 (10,463 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

03-11-2013 11:56 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

It never gets that far.

 

I put in the CD I get this window:

 

01 - CAD Error.jpg

 

 

 

 

I click "Run Setup.exe" I get this window:

 

02 - CAD Error.jpg

 

 

 

Then this winodw pops up:

 

03 - CAD Error.jpg

 

 

If I click OK, it closes the install.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,852
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 33 (10,455 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

03-11-2013 12:50 PM in reply to: epearson117

Does it help if you navigate to that TEMP folder identified in the po-up and empty it in Windows Explorer?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
epearson117
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
Message 7 of 33 (10,452 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

03-11-2013 12:52 PM in reply to: pendean

Nope.  And I have tried running the file it calls out and the just then tells me other files are missing from that temp folder.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,200
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 8 of 33 (10,450 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

03-11-2013 12:56 PM in reply to: epearson117

this may or may not help

try copying the whole DVD to your hard drive and run the install from there

Active Member
epearson117
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
Message 9 of 33 (10,447 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

03-11-2013 01:00 PM in reply to: DarrenP

Did that, didn't make a difference.  I am thinking this might be a 64-bit issue.  I have a couple of other systems that are running 32-bit and the install worked fine on those.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,852
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 10 of 33 (10,441 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

03-11-2013 01:10 PM in reply to: epearson117

You do seem to be trying to install trhe 32bit version of LT on Win7 64bit: which will fail all the time.

 

Navigate to the disk in Windows Explorer and find the 64bit Installation to activate: bet you have the 32bit disk in and that's the problem.

 

Who has the 64bit disk in your office? If you canot find it, grab the demo from the Autodesk site, it's the same exact product.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community