AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
epearson117
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
Message 11 of 33 (4,283 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

03-11-2013 01:15 PM in reply to: pendean

The disk has both versions on it.  I have gone on the disk to the 64bit folder, and when I run that it doesn't work either.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,125
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 12 of 33 (4,281 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

03-11-2013 01:26 PM in reply to: epearson117

Go grab the 64bit trial download from Autodesk's website and use that for the installation.

Empty that TEMP folder listed in the pop-up, do not run anything from there like you did last time.

 

Ensure that you restart Win7, turn off all running background applications, be logged in as full administrator in Windows 7, and run the downloaded installer. I recommend you perform a complete download first and resist installing while downloading.

 

If you are still having issues, you need to share all the above information in a repost to the Installation forum at
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/bd-p/24

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
epearson117
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
Message 13 of 33 (4,261 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

03-13-2013 07:18 AM in reply to: pendean

So, I reinstalled Windows 7 x64.  Then downloaded the Trial Software from AutoDesk.  Sure enough it installed correctly.

 

Thanks for all you help!!

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,125
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 14 of 33 (4,257 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

03-13-2013 07:22 AM in reply to: epearson117

Great news: I suspect (you need to verify it with your IT) that your Windows is set to find and run the first EXE it finds on a disk and that may have been the problem. Worth turning that ability off as it exposes your system to possible virus installations etc.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
epearson117
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
Message 15 of 33 (4,012 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

04-15-2013 07:46 AM in reply to: pendean

Once again I am experiencing the same problem.  Only this time, I am running the downloaded version from AutoDesk.

 

I reinstalled Windows 7 x64 on my computer, and when I try to get run the install I get the same error.

 

Why would the x64 version be trying to run a file from the x86 folder?

 

Has anyone else seen this issue?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,125
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 16 of 33 (4,004 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

04-15-2013 08:51 AM in reply to: epearson117

Why did you have to reinstall Win7?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
epearson117
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
Message 17 of 33 (4,002 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

04-15-2013 08:55 AM in reply to: pendean

I didn't it is a different machine.

 

But I was able to get it to install.  This time in order to get it to install I had to login as the Local Administrator and turn off my Trend Micro AntiVirus.

 

Luckily I am the IT admin here so I am able to do these things.

Member
adit
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-20-2006
Message 18 of 33 (3,579 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

05-20-2013 12:00 PM in reply to: epearson117

Can I add to this discussion because we had the exact same problem as the first email on 3-7-13. The odd thing is that we have two identical laptops running WIN7/64 and two identical copies of AutoCAD LT2013 - and the standard installation worked perfectly on one laptop. Of note, the CD/DVD indicates that it is good for 32/64 bit installations, i.e. no seperate CD.

 

So I went into the CD and navigated to the x64/en-US folder and ran setup from there. Now it can't find another file - acadltlp.msi. What to do?

Active Member
epearson117
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
Message 19 of 33 (3,577 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

05-20-2013 12:02 PM in reply to: epearson117

Try turning off you AntiVirus completely.  I found that the Trend Micro I was running caused problems.

 

 

Member
adit
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-20-2006
Message 20 of 33 (3,557 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2013 will not install on Windows 7 x64

05-20-2013 03:54 PM in reply to: epearson117

Brilliant - it worked, thank you! And you didn't even know that we were also using Trend Micro AV when you made your suggestion.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.