AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
wasicekr
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-09-2008
Message 1 of 14 (4,709 Views)

AutoCad 2012 LT copy and paste not working

4709 Views, 13 Replies
08-10-2012 10:15 AM

I have recently upgraded to AutoCAD LT 2012. The copy/paste function and the group/ungroup function are not working. I have run service pack 2 with no improvement.

 

What is the fix for this?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,848
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 14 (4,705 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2012 LT copy and paste not working

08-10-2012 11:18 AM in reply to: wasicekr

For GROUP to work, you must have PICKSTYLE set to 3 ideally (1 at a minimum): do you? Same with older and newer versions of LT.

 

As for copy/paste, is the problem ALL files even if you start a new one and draw a few lines to test on? Or just the one file or few files you've tried so far? What method of copy/paste are you using exactly? name the commands or butons you pick.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
wasicekr
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-09-2008
Message 3 of 14 (4,700 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2012 LT copy and paste not working

08-10-2012 11:21 AM in reply to: pendean

I have used Ctrl C/Ctrl V, the copy and paste buttons in toolbar and right click copy and paste to clip board.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,848
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 14 (4,698 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2012 LT copy and paste not working

08-10-2012 11:23 AM in reply to: wasicekr

"...., is the problem ALL files even if you start a new one and draw a few lines to test on? Or just the one file or few files you've tried so far?..." Works fine here so it would be good to know what else is different.

 

Windows version?

 

 

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
wasicekr
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-09-2008
Message 5 of 14 (4,694 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2012 LT copy and paste not working

08-10-2012 11:32 AM in reply to: wasicekr

Windows 7.

 

The copy paste will work on a new drawing but not any existing from drawing to drawing.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,848
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 14 (4,688 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2012 LT copy and paste not working

08-10-2012 01:04 PM in reply to: wasicekr

Try this test: in the existing drawing where it will not work, draw a line, then try to copy/paste it inside the same drawing. If this works, try copy/paste this same line to the other drawing where it failed.

Let us know who it all worked.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
BadandMadMartin
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-13-2012
Message 7 of 14 (4,651 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2012 LT copy and paste not working

08-13-2012 01:14 AM in reply to: wasicekr

Hi wasicekr,

 

When copying and pasting between drawings, when copying, you need to hold down Ctrl, Shift and c rather than just Ctrl and c.

 

This caught me off guard as well.

 

Hope this helps,

 

Martin.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 8 of 14 (4,642 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2012 LT copy and paste not working

08-13-2012 05:03 AM in reply to: BadandMadMartin

Interesting. Maybe that is why the issue popped up.

 

One more thing to try.

When you Copy from one Drawing to a another and it does not work take a moment and from the Command Line: OPTIONS then click OK.

Is Paste available now?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,848
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 14 (4,637 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2012 LT copy and paste not working

08-13-2012 05:25 AM in reply to: BadandMadMartin

CTRL+SHIFT+C is COPYBASE command, always has been.

 

CTRL+C is COPYCLIP command like in all other Windows: there is no variation in LT2012 here so I'm not sure why you all think it has changed.

 

There has been no change, not even in LT2013.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
BadandMadMartin
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-13-2012
Message 10 of 14 (4,632 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2012 LT copy and paste not working

08-13-2012 05:54 AM in reply to: pendean

I only had to start using Ctrl, Shift and c for copying and pasting between drawings since 2011, versions before that I could just use Ctrl and c and it would do it without any problems.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community