AutoCAD Freestyle

Reply
Member
studleylee
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-05-2010
Message 1 of 4 (448 Views)

Windows Vista, can easily and consistently lock it up if "no" to save

448 Views, 3 Replies
10-05-2010 11:53 AM

It's a great tool, but unfortunately:

 

The reason I got this was for marking up dxf files from various sources.

 

Problems/bugs:

-This is one of the only programs I regularly have to use task manager to kill when trying to exit. If I choose to not save, it's 50/50 if if will exit or lock up.

 

-Not having and OVAL option on the circle makes dxf markups ugly resorting to freehand drawing.

 

recap:

Windows Vista, can easily and consistently lock it up if "no" to save, no "Oval" detriment to markup usefulness.

 

-help?

-Lee

Product Support
avto
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 2 of 4 (442 Views)

Re: Windows Vista, can easily and consistently lock it up if "no" to s

10-05-2010 03:09 PM in reply to: studleylee

hi Lee,

 

Does this happen on every dxf file?

Could you provide a sample dxf file that hangs Freestyle and forces to you to kill the program from task manager?

 

I’m also wondering how much system RAM and what video card (video drivers) you have in your system.

 

Regarding having an OVAL option in Freestyle, you can add this in Freestyle wish list, here is the link

 

https://autocadfreestyle.autodesk.com/wishlist

 

Regards,

 



Avto Chachava
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
studleylee
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-05-2010
Message 3 of 4 (375 Views)

Re: Windows Vista, can easily and consistently lock it up if "no" to s

11-23-2010 09:28 AM in reply to: avto

Hi Avto, Its been awhile, I just re-installed with the latest yesterday, but I can still do the lockup.

 

attached is a file that will lock. I add a few dimensions. (Variations include:smileyhappy: then exit by using the upper-right dialog X w/o saving, and 70% of the time I have to close/kill Freestyle using TaskManager.

 

 

-cpu: Intell QuadCore Q6600 2.4ghz

-video: Nvidia GeForce 8500 GT

-Vista Home Premium 32

-4gigs sytem ram installed but limited by Win32

Member
studleylee
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-05-2010
Message 4 of 4 (353 Views)

Re: Windows Vista, can easily and consistently lock it up if "no" to s

12-02-2010 03:00 PM in reply to: studleylee

I found that when I get the dialog on opening " to open as read only" if I choose:"yes" was the problem. I thought I could

make my markups and save under a new name so 'read-only' would seem to be ok. That's what feaks Freestyle out.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community