AutoCAD Express Tools

AutoCAD Express Tools

Reply
Contributor
Dropkickbob
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-12-2013
Message 1 of 3 (461 Views)
Accepted Solution

Give macro a name and a character command?

461 Views, 2 Replies
07-16-2013 11:54 AM

So I know you can give macros an icon and etc. to click on, and you can use Shift+(#) to insert it. But it wont let me use letters to give it a command name.

 

Example:

 

I want to insert a block of a beam. I created my macro for it. But is there a way I can title it 'BEAM." So when i type in "BEAM," in the command line, my macro will be activated. 

 

Am I doing something wrong, is this only doable with LISPS...

 

Thank you,

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,142
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 3 (440 Views)

Re: Give macro a name and a character command?

07-18-2013 05:51 AM in reply to: Dropkickbob
No such ability with macros, sorry: screen menu adn toolbar/ribbon items are only accessed the way you describe and know.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Mentor
steve216586
Posts: 891
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 3 of 3 (297 Views)

Re: Give macro a name and a character command?

01-20-2014 01:05 PM in reply to: Dropkickbob

You can make an alias for your macro. If you enter COMMAND ALIASES interface, in Express Tools, you can create a an alias and associate it with your macro. I have several of these in use for things like a "Super Purge and Zoom Extents" macro I made. I use the alias "Shift+P". I say this so you can see that you can also make the aliases not just alphanumeric, but also with combinations, such as Shift and Ctrl, plus a character..

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.