AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Valued Contributor
flyFisher67
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Message 1 of 4 (219 Views)

wd_xls_all_template.xls

219 Views, 3 Replies
01-29-2013 02:03 PM

Hi All,

I'm creating some blocks with some unique attributes and trying to get them to display in the .xls files generated by the 'export to spreadsheet' feature. While it is easy enough to achieve this using the user-defined attribute list, it seems as if all the extra attributes appear in the far right-hand columns of the spreadsheet. This is a little bit of a nuisance, and I was hoping to be able to modify the wd_xls_all_template.xls file and re-order the columns exactly as I would like to see them displayed. I have modified this .xls file (under C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Acade 2012\Support), but it does not seem to be having any affect on the generated .xls files - the extra attributes do not appear. I have AE set up to run on the network, but no matter where I save this .xls file, it doesn't seem to have any affect on the output file - the new attributes don't appear. Does anyone have any suggestions? Either a way to control the order that the attributes appear in the report using the .wda file method (user-defined attribute list), or where on earth to put the modified wd_xls_all_template.xls file so that it works.

Any help would be gratefully recieved.

Mike

Valued Contributor
metal_pro2
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎07-04-2007
Message 2 of 4 (205 Views)

Re: wd_xls_all_template.xls

01-30-2013 05:44 AM in reply to: flyFisher67

I did not even know that you could do that. I did some checking and noticed

that the file you saved should be ".XLT" not ".XLS". See if that makes a difference. Let me know how it works as I have use for doing it also.

 

As per the Help file

User-Defined Attributes and Export to Spreadsheet
to Spreadsheet TIP: Add the User-Defined Attribute names to the wd_xls_all_template.xlt worksheets to include these fields with the General export option. The default location for the spreadsheet template is C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Acade {version}\Support.
 
Valued Contributor
flyFisher67
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Message 3 of 4 (185 Views)

Re: wd_xls_all_template.xls

01-31-2013 10:19 AM in reply to: flyFisher67

OK, Thanks. You are right, it should be an .xlt file. I now have it working from the default location, but when I move it to the network location for the support files, it doesn't work. I get an error when I try to export to spreadsheet saying that it can't find the file. I have added the path to the network support folder in the support file search path, but it is still trying to find it at the default location. I have even removed the default support file path from there. I wonder if there is something else I have to do to make AE look for that file in the network location?

Valued Contributor
metal_pro2
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎07-04-2007
Message 4 of 4 (172 Views)

Re: wd_xls_all_template.xls

02-01-2013 09:41 AM in reply to: flyFisher67

I don't know for sure but I would imagine it's location needs to be set in the environment settings file

If you open your ".env" file I think in this part of the file you will need to add the correct path you have setup on your network. I haven't tried it myself but its worth investigating.

 

************************************************************************************

* Program executable, dialog, and support files ************************************************************************************

WD,%PF_DIR%/support/,AutoCAD Electrical dialog files, xls templates, and other support files

 

************************************************************************************

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community