AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Active Contributor
kani_mca
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎02-07-2013
Message 1 of 13 (476 Views)

rename Drawing Name

476 Views, 12 Replies
02-27-2013 11:16 PM

Can we rename Drawing Name using Vb.net in autocad electrical?

 

I used the code Rename(oldpath,Newpath)

 

But its not work,Please Send Code If anybody know..

Mentor
vladop
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎02-05-2008
Message 2 of 13 (455 Views)

Re: rename Drawing Name

02-28-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: kani_mca

File name is part of the project file (text file with .wdp extension).

If file name is changed, it must be changed in the project file too, so that ACADE Project Manager can find that file.

 

Regards,

Vladimir

 

Active Contributor
kani_mca
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎02-07-2013
Message 3 of 13 (432 Views)

Re: rename Drawing Name

02-28-2013 10:58 PM in reply to: vladop

how can we get Wdp File through vb.net code?

Mentor
vladop
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎02-05-2008
Message 4 of 13 (424 Views)

Re: rename Drawing Name

02-28-2013 11:52 PM in reply to: kani_mca

ACADE has AutoLISP API.

You use c:wd_proj_wdp_data function to read wdp file, and c:wd_proj_wdp_write to write to wdp file.

There are samples how to use API with Object ARX and Visual Basic.

Hope this helps.

 

Active Contributor
kani_mca
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎02-07-2013
Message 5 of 13 (417 Views)

Re: rename Drawing Name

03-01-2013 01:33 AM in reply to: vladop

i renamed drawing and i also changed WDP file.

i can see in the folder,but in autocad i cant get that..

 

It will be renamed in folderwise and WDP file also,

but it doesnot show in autocad electrical..

Active Contributor
kani_mca
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎02-07-2013
Message 6 of 13 (413 Views)

Re: rename Drawing Name

03-01-2013 01:54 AM in reply to: vladop

I renamed drawing in folder and WDP file..It renamed well...

But i cant see in autocad electrical at that time,Once i restart autocad electrical it will renamed correctly..

 

Autocad electrical is not refresh,if i click refresh icon it will not refresh,,

But if i open another autocad electrical,it renamed correctly. 

Mentor
johnq
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
Message 7 of 13 (353 Views)

Re: rename Drawing Name

03-04-2013 08:12 PM in reply to: kani_mca

Hi

 

Why are you trying to do what you are asking?  It is all so simple using the ribbon.  This might be an excuse as I do not understand the programme you are writing.

 

To change the drawing names the files must be in the project with the project active. Close the drawing within  the project and then rename the drawing.   Use the rename button within the project.  This does all the house work for you.

 

I will follow this thread with interest.

 

Cheers  jq

 

Active Contributor
kani_mca
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎02-07-2013
Message 8 of 13 (350 Views)

Re: rename Drawing Name

03-04-2013 08:24 PM in reply to: johnq

Actually, i want to rename drawing name using vb.net?

So,I renamed Drawing name in WDP file...

when i renamed drawing name in wdp file using vb.net code, it will changed drawing name correctly in Wdp file and folder also..

But i cant see that changes in AutoCAD Electrical Window. Once i restart AutoCAD Electrical, i can see that changes.

 

Mentor
vladop
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎02-05-2008
Message 9 of 13 (342 Views)

Re: rename Drawing Name

03-04-2013 11:45 PM in reply to: kani_mca

ACADE is not aware of changes done only using vb.net.

Using API functions or RENAME command, project update is invoked.

Project update is also invoked on ACADE restart and that is why changes are seen.

Active Contributor
kani_mca
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎02-07-2013
Message 10 of 13 (339 Views)

Re: rename Drawing Name

03-05-2013 12:53 AM in reply to: vladop

ok thanks for your update...

Can we close and open a Project in "Project Manager" using vba?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community