AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎07-08-2005
Message 1 of 10 (135 Views)
Accepted Solution

probelm with PLC database editor

135 Views, 9 Replies
09-21-2006 03:52 AM
hi autodesk

pl find attached dwg..
i'm usign ACADE2007 and I'm getting problem with PLC Database editor

pl help
sathya
*Steve Kemp \(Autodesk\)
Message 2 of 10 (135 Views)

Re: probelm with PLC database editor

09-21-2006 08:10 AM in reply to: sathy
Sathya,

These terminal types are defined in a file called 'wdmbblks.bsf'. This file
should be located in the following location:

C:\Documents and Settings\{username}\Application Data\Autodesk\AutoCAD
Electrical 2007\R17.0\enu\Support

Either this file can not be located or some of the predefined terminals have
been removed from it. Check to make sure this file exists, it should look
like the attached.

Steve

wrote in message news:5336512@discussion.autodesk.com...
hi autodesk

pl find attached dwg..
i'm usign ACADE2007 and I'm getting problem with PLC Database editor

pl help
sathya
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎07-08-2005
Message 3 of 10 (135 Views)

Re: probelm with PLC database editor

09-21-2006 08:50 PM in reply to: sathy
thanks steve, its working!!!!!!!!!

The file 'wdmbblks.bsf' in C:\Documents and Settings\{username}\Application Data\Autodesk\AutoCAD
Electrical 2007\R17.0\enu\Support
was currupted so i copied from ADAE2006. will it create a problem?

Also is there any short cuts to create PLC modules?
I used to create access tables and add Modules in PLC_manufacturer Table, that was working AutoCADE-2006
!!!.. but wen i tried same in AutoCAD E2007, I'm getting error..

I've so much of PLC modules to be created..
Thanks in advance

Sathya Nadig
*Mike Spitzer \(Autodesk\)
Message 4 of 10 (135 Views)

Re: probelm with PLC database editor

09-22-2006 04:49 AM in reply to: sathy
Sathya,

Using the wdmbblks.bsf file from 2006 should not cause any problems.

In regards to editing the PLC MDB file, I have a couple of questions for
you. First, can you describe for me the process you are using to manually
modify the PLC MDB file? Second, what specifically is the error you are
getting when you modify the file directly?

Thanks,
Mike

wrote in message news:5337741@discussion.autodesk.com...
thanks steve, its working!!!!!!!!!

The file 'wdmbblks.bsf' in C:\Documents and Settings\{username}\Application
Data\Autodesk\AutoCAD
Electrical 2007\R17.0\enu\Support
was currupted so i copied from ADAE2006. will it create a problem?

Also is there any short cuts to create PLC modules?
I used to create access tables and add Modules in PLC_manufacturer Table,
that was working AutoCADE-2006
!!!.. but wen i tried same in AutoCAD E2007, I'm getting error..

I've so much of PLC modules to be created..
Thanks in advance

Sathya Nadig
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 411
Registered: ‎09-19-2005
Message 5 of 10 (135 Views)

Re: probelm with PLC database editor

10-06-2006 04:53 AM in reply to: sathy
I too am having a problem here. I am using ACADE 2006 and added new PLC modules to my PLC Database yesterday using the PLC Database Editor from the toolbar. The new modules work great. Unfortunately, NONE of the existing PLC modules work at all now. The following is the command line text including the error I am getting.


Insert PLC Module

Specify PLC module insert point (Z=zoom down, R=realtime pan):
Error: bad argument type: consp ""


Thanks.

Scott
*Mike Spitzer \(Autodesk\)
Message 6 of 10 (135 Views)

Re: probelm with PLC database editor

10-10-2006 04:16 AM in reply to: sathy
Scott,

I would like for you to try something for me. I need you to turn on command
trace mode and then run this again with one of the modules that it is
failing on. Then send me the results from the command window. You can turn
command trace mode on by going to the menu and selecting
Projects->Extras->Command Trace Mode->Command Trace On. You can turn it off
again when you are done by going again to the Command Trace Mode menu and
selecting Command Trace Off. You can post the results here or send them to
me directly at mike.spitzer@autodesk.com.

Thanks,
Mike

wrote in message news:5352961@discussion.autodesk.com...
I too am having a problem here. I am using ACADE 2006 and added new PLC
modules to my PLC Database yesterday using the PLC Database Editor from the
toolbar. The new modules work great. Unfortunately, NONE of the existing
PLC modules work at all now. The following is the command line text
including the error I am getting.


Insert PLC Module

Specify PLC module insert point (Z=zoom down, R=realtime pan):
Error: bad argument type: consp ""


Thanks.

Scott
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 411
Registered: ‎09-19-2005
Message 7 of 10 (135 Views)

Re: probelm with PLC database editor

10-10-2006 08:23 AM in reply to: sathy
Sorry Mike. I had to restore the original PLC database and then re-enter my modules. Now everything works. I think my real problem was with inserting new rows into the Terminal Block Settings for adding new blocks. I think it messed up the order by inserting in between existing blocks rather than simply appending new blocks to the end of the list.

Scott
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 411
Registered: ‎09-19-2005
Message 8 of 10 (135 Views)

Re: probelm with PLC database editor

05-29-2007 07:31 AM in reply to: sathy
We just upgraded from 2006 to 2007. I copied the "wdmbblks.bsf" file that we added a couple of dozen modules to, over to the user support directory for 2007. Unfortunately we are experiencing problems with the PLC database editor. I can insert our new modules okay, but when I try to use the PLC editor I get the "undefined terminal types" error and NO terminals are listed. We have created many new terminal styles and they all exist in the .bsf file. I do not want to have to re-add them in order to use the PLC editor. Can you help?

Scott
*Mike Spitzer \(Autodesk\)
Message 9 of 10 (135 Views)

Re: probelm with PLC database editor

05-29-2007 10:32 AM in reply to: sathy
Scott,

Send me (mike.spitzer@autodesk.com) your "wdmbblks.bsf" file and I will take
a look at it.

Thanks,
Mike

wrote in message news:5609641@discussion.autodesk.com...
We just upgraded from 2006 to 2007. I copied the "wdmbblks.bsf" file that
we added a couple of dozen modules to, over to the user support directory
for 2007. Unfortunately we are experiencing problems with the PLC database
editor. I can insert our new modules okay, but when I try to use the PLC
editor I get the "undefined terminal types" error and NO terminals are
listed. We have created many new terminal styles and they all exist in the
.bsf file. I do not want to have to re-add them in order to use the PLC
editor. Can you help?

Scott
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 411
Registered: ‎09-19-2005
Message 10 of 10 (135 Views)

Re: probelm with PLC database editor

05-29-2007 10:34 AM in reply to: sathy
ROGER.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community