AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

newbe needs help

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
b.elec
320 Views, 7 Replies

newbe needs help

OK, I made a post on another board and it was suggested I try here with my question so here go's. I am a sole proprietor electrical contractor and am faced with the ever increasing requirement to provide as built drawings at projects end in autocad format. My understanding is that the electrical engineer emails the drawings to me and I make changes and email them back and/or burn them onto a CD to have em printed by the local contractor printing company.
I have a good idea what i need for computer equipment but I need direction on the software.I have never used autocad or anything like it. Im green at this stuff. I typically just work with the 2D E sheets which are a birds eye view of the building showing receptacles, swithces, lights, panels, circuit numbers and such in addition to one line diagrams for service gear and the usual panel schedules and such. If you've looked at typical plans for say a small medical clinic or service garage then you know what I mean. My questions then are as follows-
What software should I start with, autocad, autocad LT, or something in addition to these or something all together different?
Is there a book or manual you would suggest for my purposes? (ie autocad for dummies)
Is there a way to try it before I make the plunge into the software abyss? I am committed to getting a new machine already for other reasons so the question is regarding the software.
Thanking you in advance bman.
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
rjtcm1
in reply to: b.elec