AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Contributor
SteveEE
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
Message 1 of 4 (218 Views)

lock up when using surfer

218 Views, 3 Replies
11-21-2012 10:00 AM

I'm evaluating AutoCAD Electrical for my company to see if it would be useful to us. I have downloaded the 30 day trial and am running through the tutorials right now. Whenever I try to use the surfer tool on any circuit component the command line shows the text "reading project database file..." and then sits there indefinitely until I hit escape or enter. When I try some of the other demo drawings in different projects (I activated the different projects before attempting to use the surfer tool) I experience the same issue. 

 

Is this a known/common issue?

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 2 of 4 (211 Views)

Re: lock up when using surfer

11-21-2012 10:47 AM in reply to: SteveEE

I am guessing the dialog box is off screen. This can sometimes happen when switching between one and two monitors.

 

Try pressing ALT+Spacebar and then M. Now you can use the arrow keys to move the dialog box around. It should eventually appear near one of the edges.

 

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Contributor
SteveEE
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
Message 3 of 4 (207 Views)

Re: lock up when using surfer

11-21-2012 11:19 AM in reply to: testsubject

Ah, that was it. Thanks!

Employee
RobinShou-Autodesk
Posts: 206
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 4 of 4 (180 Views)

Re: lock up when using surfer

11-22-2012 10:11 PM in reply to: SteveEE

Hello,  
 
This issue has been fixed in the SP1, please patch the ACE2013 SP1.  You can get the ACE2013 SP1 from here:
 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=20545414&linkID=9240738

Thanks, 
Robin Shou 
Quality Assurance 
AutoCAD Electrical 
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community