AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Member
Scott.Papworth
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-22-2013
Message 1 of 4 (1,735 Views)
Accepted Solution

Zoom Extents not locating All of / Centre of Dwg.

1735 Views, 3 Replies
03-22-2013 04:34 AM

Hi,

 

I'm new to this so my apologies if im posting in the wrong place.

 

I'd like a bit of help on an issue i come across regularly at work.

 

Here goes...

 

If i want to Double click the mouse wheel or 'Zoom>Extents' within a drawing, i sometimes get the visual sensation of there being a 'foreign object' hidden somewhere else in the drawing space. Which therefore obscures my view of what shouldve been my drawing 'extented'. From here i go to the opposite side of the view and search for any unwanted objects. In this case, i higlight the area and nothing appears to be there. I literally cannot find anything that would be causing my obstructuction for extenting the whole drawing as normal.

 

Any ideas as this becomes highly frustrating?

 

Thanks.

Member
Scott.Papworth
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-22-2013
Message 2 of 4 (1,733 Views)

Re: Zoom Extents not locating All of / Centre of Dwg.

03-22-2013 04:37 AM in reply to: Scott.Papworth

Should really mention im using AutoCAD Electrical 2013.

Valued Contributor
metal_pro2
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎07-04-2007
Message 3 of 4 (1,695 Views)

Re: Zoom Extents not locating All of / Centre of Dwg.

03-22-2013 06:40 AM in reply to: Scott.Papworth

Are any layers turned off? Objects on a layer turned off affect zoom extents.

if not try this to look for some junk in the drawing that is affecting your zoom extents

At the command prompt

Command: ATTDISP
Enter attribute visibility setting [Normal/ON/OFF] <Normal>: on

 

This will display blocks with invisible attributes like WD_M

 

Also you can

Try and do an Erase then type All, then R for remove. Put a window around objects you don't want to erase (titleblock). then enter to finish the command.

You can see from the command prompt in the example below there were more objects then in the title block. Don't erase your WD_M block

 

Command:  ERASE

Select objects: All 160 found 2 were not in current space.

Select objects: R Remove objects: Specify opposite corner: 154 found, 154 removed, 4 total

Remove objects:

 

Set Your ATTDISP back to normal and zoom extents to see if it works.

Member
Scott.Papworth
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-22-2013
Message 4 of 4 (1,688 Views)

Re: Zoom Extents not locating All of / Centre of Dwg.

03-22-2013 07:24 AM in reply to: metal_pro2

Some things there i wasnt aware of.

 

Thanks alot !

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community