AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
johnq
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
Message 1 of 4 (97 Views)

Wire numbers on Source & destination

97 Views, 3 Replies
12-01-2011 06:20 PM

G'day readers

 

A cosmetice request.    My company does not like the wire number to be displayed at the source and destination arrows.  I  know how to do this at each source and destination arrows but it is time consuming.

 

I would like to make the wire number invisible in the blocks as a perminant feature.

 

I can find the block for these arrows but I cant find how to perminantly turn off the visibility.

 

If some one can help it would save me some time.

 

Once I turn off this parameter how can I set up the ribbon command so that the source and destination icon call up the new block.

 

Many thanks  JQ

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,081
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 2 of 4 (91 Views)

Re: Wire numbers on Source & destination

12-02-2011 04:56 AM in reply to: johnq

I would recommend first creating a new folder to store your company specific symbols and place that at the top of your project's properties/project settings/schematic libraries.


Copy the symbols that you want to change into this folder. If you double click on an existing symbol on a schematic and go to properties, it will tell you the filename. (By doing it this way you will not have to change the symbol library).

 

Open one of the files in the new folder and edit the properties of WIRENO and set "Invisible" setting to "yes".

 

Now save the file and go to the next one you want to change and repeat the above.

 

After this, your source/destination symbols will not display the wire number when you insert them.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Mentor
johnq
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
Message 3 of 4 (77 Views)

Re: Wire numbers on Source & destination

12-04-2011 03:34 PM in reply to: testsubject

Thanks for your rely Bob.

 

I understand all the hints you have given me except where I should edit the attribute.

 

The only place I know where I have access to the " * "   IE the invisable flag is by editing the attribute after it is inserted into the diagram.

 

Am I missing the point?

 

Is this another change on 2012?   I did not try to taylor this feature in 2010.

 

Cheers  jq

 

 

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,081
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 4 of 4 (67 Views)

Re: Wire numbers on Source & destination

12-05-2011 05:14 AM in reply to: johnq

John,

 

In the symbol that you want to hide the wire number in, select the attribute called "WIRENO" and then edit its properties. You will find the invisible setting near the bottom of the list.

 

You can set the invisible setting during the insertion of a new attribute. It is available as a check box in the "Mode" box.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.