AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wire Layout - Trunking wires

19 REPLIES 19
SOLVED
Message 1 of 20
SeanFarr
4077 Views, 19 Replies

Wire Layout - Trunking wires

Good Day,

I have question regarding how wires are shown on drawings. I have very little electrical knowledge, I am mechanical, but since I am the only drafter in our company, these single line layout drawings are done by me. I am learning as I go what symbols and terminology is used and very grateful for all the electrical symbols within the software.

The electrician came up to me with a new term and for some reason I can't find anyway to do what he wants with the software.

Instead of using a Dot Tee Marker to show a connection between wire connections, and 90° intersections he wants to make rounds(fillets) at the intersections. he says it to show that the wires are not the same, but to avoid clouding up the drawing sheet with multiple wires that go to the same terminal block etc...

so he wants whats in the red box instead of the yellow box in the image below

autocadelectrical.png
He called this wire trunking, I have not found a way to do this in the software except to create a arc and copy and past it at every intersection and adjust the wires. Very Time Consuming method

Is there a way to do this faster and more efficient?

(please keep in mind that I don't know much electrical terms design methods when replying)

Thanks!!  Much appreciated!!

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49
19 REPLIES 19
Message 2 of 20
s.wile
in reply to: SeanFarr