AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Member
ElecImplementor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-15-2013
Message 1 of 12 (525 Views)

Weird Source and Destination Issue

525 Views, 11 Replies
08-15-2013 08:46 AM

So be prepared everyone, this problem is very strange. It has so far only happend in one project that we are working on. Ok here goes:

 

So we are working on a project in AutoCAD Electrical 2013. There are multiple people working on the project all using this same software. The problem seems to lie in that some are using 64bit and some are using 32 bit versions. On the 64bit version the Signal Cross Refrence(source and destination arrows) issue is that they will not update with the proper wire numbers and tags. They just show the standard "??" beside them. The weird thing is though that they are linked because we can surf from one to the other. On the 32bit versions everything works fine...

 

This is what we have tried:

Refresh and Rebuild Database

Delete .mdb file

copy project

 

 

All other updates (eg. Wire numbers, component tags, ladder resequence) seem to be working fine and as i've mentioned there seems to be a  link established between the signals even becasue we can surf from one to the other no problem. The issue is the actually cometics/labeling of it. And only on 64bit does the issue persist.

 

Anyway I think that is all the information I have. Not sure if anyone can help/has heard of this problem before. Please let me know if there is anything else I can provide.

 

Thanks in Advance!

Distinguished Contributor
acade2012
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎04-24-2012
Message 2 of 12 (521 Views)

Re: Weird Source and Destination Issue

08-15-2013 08:52 AM in reply to: ElecImplementor

? how are you updating them?

I have the same issue, i am running 64 bit windows 7 and the only way i can get them to udate is go to each source arrow and do a update/retag on each 1. Long process but at least that works. The destination arrow seems to update fine.

 

FYI

ACADE 2012, Windows 7, 64 bit

Member
ElecImplementor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-15-2013
Message 3 of 12 (519 Views)

Re: Weird Source and Destination Issue

08-15-2013 08:54 AM in reply to: acade2012

That does not work for me unfortunetly and both arrows have the same issue.

 

Thanks though.

Employee
RobinShou-Autodesk
Posts: 206
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 4 of 12 (474 Views)

Re: Weird Source and Destination Issue

08-19-2013 07:09 AM in reply to: ElecImplementor

Hello,   

 

Would you please help to provide a sample project with the problem? Then we can look into the issue.

 

We don't have any issue in our Demo projects, as you mentioned, the issue seems related to some special projects.

 

You can remove all the components in the drawings, only left the wires and Source and Destination in the drawings, but make sure can reproduce the issue.  

 

Thanks,  

Robin Shou  

Quality Assurance  

AutoCAD Electrical  

Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 2,986
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 5 of 12 (470 Views)

Re: Weird Source and Destination Issue

08-19-2013 08:00 AM in reply to: ElecImplementor
Have you tried the Update Signal References utility?
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Contributor
sstrecker
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-23-2012
Message 6 of 12 (360 Views)

Re: Weird Source and Destination Issue

10-07-2013 10:39 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

I have the same issue and am running Windows 7 64-bit.  I've found numerous compaints about this problem on the forum, and still no answers.  I've tried every possible combination of rebuilding databases, manually editing numbers and databases, the "Update/Retag" button, the "Update signal references" button etc.  I've even submitted a support case to AutoDesk with no responce as of yet.  What I've noticed (anecdotaly) is that;

 

-Vertically oriented source/destination arrows do not update "project wide". (JIC style schematic)

 

-Using the "Update Signal Refernces" button works on a page by page basis, but not when you select "project wide".

 

-The vertical rails in my projects (with the most trouble) are typically "fixed" to meet company standards.

 

-When the insertion of a destination pops up the "do you want to update source" message, that works fine. 

 

-Any project updates that effect wire numbers turns my signal arrows back to ???.

 

 

 

 

Member
ElecImplementor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-15-2013
Message 7 of 12 (358 Views)

Re: Weird Source and Destination Issue

10-07-2013 10:43 AM in reply to: ElecImplementor

I did find a strange work around solution to this problem. What I did was break up the project in half, it was a fairly large project and I broke it up into two smaller projects. This solved the problem and all sources and destinations updated. Not really sure why this worked because I do have plenty of other projects that are even larger than this one was, they all work fine.

 

Hopefully that helps!

Contributor
sstrecker
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-23-2012
Message 8 of 12 (356 Views)

Re: Weird Source and Destination Issue

10-07-2013 10:49 AM in reply to: ElecImplementor

Is it perhaps that the source/destination arrows are meant for inside the same drawing and you are supposed to use stand alone references for between drawings??  I'll have to try that.

Member
ElecImplementor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-15-2013
Message 9 of 12 (350 Views)

Re: Weird Source and Destination Issue

10-07-2013 10:57 AM in reply to: sstrecker
No, the source/destination arrows are definietly meant to be used across all drawings in a project. I've only ever had this problem in one project so far, although obviously I have not been the only one. I think its probably just a couple of links within the project that somehow become corrupt. Since a scratch database update/refresh does not help I'm thinking its probably something on the actual drawing thats corrupt.
*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 909
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 10 of 12 (333 Views)

Re: Weird Source and Destination Issue

10-07-2013 03:38 PM in reply to: ElecImplementor

Have you tried running the Drawing Audit across the project. This will normally pick up most of the corruption issues and fix other problems as well.

 

Look in the Reports tab for the link to start.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community