AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Views in Model Space for ACADE 2010 or higher

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
matthewjohnston4386
372 Views, 3 Replies

Views in Model Space for ACADE 2010 or higher

Hello,

The problem I'm having is with large panel drawings.  I use proper tools to place a very large equipment enclosure.  So the drawing is very large.  When I place the 30mm AB buttons on the drawing, they are to scale.  When I zoom extents the buttons are very small. 

What I'm wondering is if there is a way to make a "viewport" in model space so I can have a blown up view of the button layout.  That way if or when the buttons or components are updated, the view updates as well.

I'm fairly new to AutoCAD in general, but I've picked up on the electrical fairly quickly.  The problem I'm seeing is that AutoCAD Electrical wants you to stay only in model space and not use paper space.  What do I need to do to show details on panel layouts?  Thanks!

Matthew Johnston

Corning Inc.

Matthew Johnston
Sr. Controls Scientist
Corning Inc.
3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4

Best way that I have found is to do all your board layouts and such in modelspace with the title blocks in layerspace and viewports as required.

Electrical will only recognise a single Paperspace page and titleblock per drawing and will still update the titleblock in the Paperspace so this does not put it out of step with the rest of the project.

The problem arises when you have to many viewports for a single title block and require more Paperspace layouts to do the detail viewports required. I don't know of any way to do this other than having the extra Paperspace layouts and MANUALLY updating the title blocks for them and any sheet settings in the entire project.

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman