AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
crosby.109
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎01-18-2014
Message 1 of 4 (177 Views)
Accepted Solution

Unique Attributes on Symbol not Linking to Footprint

177 Views, 3 Replies
02-13-2014 11:58 AM

When creating a unique attribute in the Symbol (ex: COLOR), and adding the corresponding attribute to the Footprint (ex: color), When laying down the Footprint from schematic component it doesn't find that value.  It WILL work if I do the same thing but change the attribute name to somthing familiar like RATING1.

 

I just dont want to use these attributes.  Any thoughts why it isn't linking?

 

Thanks!

Active Contributor
crosby.109
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎01-18-2014
Message 2 of 4 (170 Views)

Re: Unique Attributes on Symbol not Linking to Footprint

02-13-2014 12:15 PM in reply to: crosby.109

i just tried adding a number to end (ex: COLOR1) but still no luck.  Let me know if anybody can get this to work . . . it seems like a relatively fundamental issue

*Expert Elite*
rhesusminus
Posts: 899
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 3 of 4 (158 Views)

Re: Unique Attributes on Symbol not Linking to Footprint

02-13-2014 03:23 PM in reply to: crosby.109

I guess you're stuck with using the RATING attributes.

However, if you put a description for the rating in the prompt-field, it will display in AcadE's dialog:

Capture.PNG

 


THL
Please select "Accept As Solution" if this post answers your question. Kudos don't hurt either. ;-)
Valued Mentor
drathak
Posts: 400
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 4 of 4 (146 Views)

Re: Unique Attributes on Symbol not Linking to Footprint

02-14-2014 11:38 AM in reply to: crosby.109

The problem is that the underlying code doesn't have any way to know about those additional attributes or be able to match them up.  The "known" attributes are hard coded into the software.

 

Would be very nice if it did work that way though.  But for now, you have 12 RATING attributes to play with.

--------------
Joe Weaver
Principal Associate Engineer
Nashville Electric Service

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community