AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
april_herr
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎08-22-2011
Message 1 of 4 (134 Views)

Source arrows

134 Views, 3 Replies
11-03-2011 06:54 AM

I am trying to add my signal source arrows and the 1-4 options don't fit my needs.  I assume 5 and up are for my own design?  If this true, how do I go about accomplishing this?  I have attached a sample of what I am looking for.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,806
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 4 (129 Views)

Re: Source arrows

11-03-2011 07:36 AM in reply to: april_herr

Interesting that one of the 4 doesn't work for you.  Those are all industry standard.  The examples in NFPA-79 even use the "oyster cracker" shaped sources and destinations.  I prefer the style 1 arrows myself because I don't have to worry about my rung numbers being too ling to fit inside a box or oyster cracker.

 

But if you wish to create your own I suggest starting with one of the existing ones.  You need to copy all files, for both horizontal and vertical versions, plus don't forget to get both source and destination files and grab the inline versions as well.  You can edit with plain AutoCAD.  Change the graphical appearance to suit you.  You will also need to create bitmap files to replace the images for style 5.  Below is an excerpt from AutoCAD Electrical Help, which explains the location and naming convention for the bitmap files:

 

Add custom signal arrow styles

The icon menu graphics that display for the various signal styles are bitmap files saved to your C:\Program Files [(x86)]\Autodesk\Acade {version}\Acade\ folder where AutoCAD Electrical's Insert Signal utilities and Drawing Properties tool can access them.

  1. Create the style in AutoCAD.
  2. Zoom in to the new arrow style.
  3. Save the file as a bitmap using the following name definition: A_STYLExh.bmpwhere "x" is the arrow style 1-9.
    NoteIf the resulting bitmap is too small or off-center, open the source drawing in AutoCAD again. Resize your AutoCAD graphics window so that it is more square. Center the image and resave. Repeat until you are satisfied with the result.
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Distinguished Contributor
april_herr
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎08-22-2011
Message 3 of 4 (125 Views)

Re: Source arrows

11-03-2011 07:49 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

Because I haven't used this before, I was a bit unclear what I'm actually after with this.  The oyster cracker is what I want to use, but when I place it, I want the wires disconnected with text on both ends.  I usually have three lines of text on each. 

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,806
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 4 of 4 (122 Views)

Re: Source arrows

11-03-2011 07:52 AM in reply to: april_herr
Source and destination arrows are designed to continue a wire in a new location. If you don't want wires connected, try using Stand-alone cross-references.
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community