AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
New Member
GrahamCzajkowski5995
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-27-2011
Message 1 of 11 (826 Views)

Source and Destination Arrows Different Size

826 Views, 10 Replies
04-05-2012 01:18 AM

After Installing Autocad 2013, the Source and Destination Arrows are now a different size. Everything works O.K. in Autocad Electrical 2012. Assume I have configuresd something worng, but I don't know what.

Arrow Size

Employee
RobinShou-Autodesk
Posts: 207
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 2 of 11 (801 Views)

Re: Source and Destination Arrows Different Size

04-08-2012 11:46 PM in reply to: GrahamCzajkowski5995

Hello,  

 

I have checked this issue in the AutoCAD Electrical 2013, but I can't reproduce this issue.

 

Is it always reproducible in your side? If it is reproducible, can you provide the steps?

 

Thanks,

Robin Shou

Quality Assurance

AutoCAD Electrical

Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
GrahamCzajkowski5995
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-27-2011
Message 3 of 11 (780 Views)

Re: Source and Destination Arrows Different Size

04-11-2012 02:08 AM in reply to: RobinShou-Autodesk

Hello Robin,

I have used the Basic Templates provided with Autocad 2013

 

The fault is always reproducible

 

Process :-

 

Draw a couple of Horizontal Wires and a couple of Vertical Wires.

Selct source arrow.

Click on end of wire. Accept defaults.

OK to match arrow destination

Click on end of another wire for destination.

 

Using ACAD_ELECTRICAL_IEC.dwt

OK for Horizontal Arrows, but Vertical arrows and text really tiny.

 

Using ACAD_ELECTRICAL.dwt

All arrows and text really tiny

 

Using ACE_IEC_A3 color.dwt.

All arrows and text really tiny.

 

Not sure what I am doing wrong but I reckon it is either my settings or I am using the wrong template.

 

any help appreciated.

 

 

 

Employee
RobinShou-Autodesk
Posts: 207
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 4 of 11 (771 Views)

Re: Source and Destination Arrows Different Size

04-11-2012 08:01 PM in reply to: GrahamCzajkowski5995

Hello,   

 

The Source and Destination Arrows size is related to the symbol lib used in project settings.

 

So if you want to use the template for IEC, please make sure your project is IEC, and all the settings is IEC. I have checked if you create a new drawing with the IEC template in a IEC project, then the Arrow size don't have any issue.

 

The same if you want to use the template for JIC, then please make sure your project is JIC.

 

If you don't follow this, the symbol size will be problem. not only the Arrow size, but also for the other symbols i think.    

 

Thanks,  

Robin Shou  

Quality Assurance  

AutoCAD Electrical  

Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
jbender
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-19-2012
Message 5 of 11 (670 Views)

Re: Source and Destination Arrows Different Size

09-07-2012 11:35 AM in reply to: GrahamCzajkowski5995

I am having problems with the text associated with the source and destination arrows.  Verticle wires are fine but horizontal wires the text on the destination arrow is tiny.  The source text is fine.

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,034
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 6 of 11 (620 Views)

Re: Source and Destination Arrows Different Size

09-10-2012 08:56 AM in reply to: RobinShou-Autodesk

Robin, I cannot reproduce the error either.  I use arrow style 1 for IEC drawings on an A3 border and the arrows work just fine for both vertical and horizontal wires.  I am using the IEC4 library.  The only thing could think of that may be causing the problem for them is that somehow an arrow from the JIC library (25.4 times smaller than IEC) was inserted at some point and of course the AutoCAD engine is going to use an existing symbol on the drawing, even if it has been deleted but not purged, before it will use a fresh symbol from the library folder.  Perhaps if he deletes all arrows and runs the purge command to remove all unused blocks, the problem may be solved.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Active Member
jbender
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-19-2012
Message 7 of 11 (596 Views)

Re: Source and Destination Arrows Different Size

09-12-2012 04:05 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander
It is not the arrows that are different sizes. It is the text.
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,034
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 8 of 11 (594 Views)

Re: Source and Destination Arrows Different Size

09-12-2012 07:00 AM in reply to: jbender

That makes so sense.  Mine works fine with the stock libraries.  Is it possible someone may have "tweaked" your symbols?

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Active Member
jbender
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-19-2012
Message 9 of 11 (591 Views)

Re: Source and Destination Arrows Different Size

09-12-2012 08:13 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander
It is not the symbol for the arrow. It is the size of the text.
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,034
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 10 of 11 (590 Views)

Re: Source and Destination Arrows Different Size

09-12-2012 08:17 AM in reply to: jbender

The visible text comes from attributes inside the symbol.  Each attribute has its own set of unique properties.  The text height, and width factor can be set for each attribute independently.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community