AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-27-2012
Message 1 of 12 (586 Views)

Signal Cross Referencing wire number and destination

586 Views, 11 Replies
02-05-2013 05:17 AM

I am trying to set up a new signal cross reference, not just to show the page and line it connects to, but also the component CMP:smileytongue:IN1 it connects to as well. I have used, Promis-e and E-Plan and this was a feature that was common in both of those packages.

 

I am unable to find the attribute to carry this information that I can assign to the signal cross reference arrow. Can someone tell me if this is an option. I am trying to stream line the process, our drawing sets are over 300 pages and an installation nightmare at this point.

 

Thank you for your assistance. I look forward to getting an answer.

 

Geoff Hall

Electrical Designer

AutoCAD Electrical 2013

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 867
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 2 of 12 (566 Views)

Re: Signal Cross Referencing wire number and destination

02-05-2013 04:44 PM in reply to: geoff.hall

Bring up the electrical help system and do a search for 'Replacable Parameters'

 

This should bring up a list of options. Look for 'Use Replacable Parameters' and click on it.

 

This should give you all the replacable parameters available in your version of ACADE and some examples on their use.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-27-2012
Message 3 of 12 (557 Views)

Re: Signal Cross Referencing wire number and destination

02-06-2013 04:12 AM in reply to: Icemanau

I want to place this on the signal arrow and have it only on the signals, not for the project parameters. Currently the signal XREF, DESC1, WIRENO are displayed. Where can I place the %"letters" in order for them to be on the signals? What I would like to be able to see is signal XREF, WIRENO and instead of the DESC1 have an automatic field that pulls the information from the project, such as XXX-XXXX-01 (currently manual and constant errors). If I can break it down further, then I will do how it was done in IEC where signals are point to point. Example signal would contain XREF, WIRENO, CONNECTION (D.ID and Pin) and then Project info which is %D.

 

I hope this clears it up. I appreciate your help so far, just need the finishing touches, if it is possible.

 

Thank You,

 

Geoff

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 867
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 4 of 12 (541 Views)

Re: Signal Cross Referencing wire number and destination

02-06-2013 02:26 PM in reply to: geoff.hall

The replacable parameters can be used in any automatic process. Wire Numbers, Cross Referencing, Tags and so on. They are not just for the project parameters. When you place the code in the wire number format for example, the system will pull the data from the appropriate place and insert it the wire number.

 

To set it up automatically you would have to set the cross reference format information in the project settings and then apply them to all the dwgs.

 

Problem with this is that it will also affect the component cross reference display.

 

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-27-2012
Message 5 of 12 (531 Views)

Re: Signal Cross Referencing wire number and destination

02-07-2013 03:30 AM in reply to: Icemanau

Hello Brad,

 

Thank you for your help.

 

I am confused at your response, in one statement you say "They are not just for project parameters." but in the last statement you say "to do this automatically I have to set this in the project settings and apply it to the drawings."

 

From what I am understanding, this is not possible to do without changing the project parameters. I have inserted the replaceable codes inside of the signal references under almost every possible place I can think of and it will not pull the information from the project.

 

My hope was that this would not affect the project settings, because of all the other cross referencing. How do other people do it with various control boxes tied to one main power box? This is a time consuming process and riddled with errors when put in manually.

 

Can anyone tell me what they do to cross reference to different control boxes, to different points on a machine, or multi machines? Is this a manual function for you, or do you have a way of intellegantly telling the installers how to wire this?

 

This is not my first time using Electrical packages, I have been doing this for over 20 years.

 

Thank You,

 

Geoff Hall

Electrical Designer

*Expert Elite*
rhesusminus
Posts: 792
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 6 of 12 (505 Views)

Re: Signal Cross Referencing wire number and destination

02-12-2013 05:02 AM in reply to: geoff.hall

Hi Geoff.

 

The signal source/destination symbols have an XREF-attribute. This attribute will show the information specified in the project properties (With the %SomeLetters specifying what to display).

The signal source/destination can have 2 optional attributes as well (you'l have to add them manually):

  1. SHEET - This will contain the sheet number (%S-value) from the "other side" of the signal
  2. DWGNAM - This will conatin the drawing number (%D-value) from the "other side" of the signal.

It is not possible to get the component/pin combination into the signal symbol using AutoCAD Electrical out-of-the-box.

 


THL
Please select "Accept As Solution" if this post answers your question. Kudos don't hurt either. ;-)
Active Member
AScorgie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-20-2010
Message 7 of 12 (406 Views)

Re: Signal Cross Referencing wire number and destination

04-12-2013 10:14 AM in reply to: geoff.hall

You may want to use the Schematic "From-To" report, that can show the wire#, CMP1, PIN1, CMP2, PIN2. That is as close as I have come to getting that information out of ACADE.

 

Also, a little more time consuming, you could creat a new signal style with only the signal description shown and then manually enter the component and pin connection as the description. The downside with this is that the description is the same on the signal and destination so on CMP1 the description would read "CMP2-PIN2" and on CMP2 the description would read "CMP2-PIN2"(somewhat misleading and redundant).

 

I too wish there was more flexibility with the signals and destinations.:smileyfrustrated:  I create a majority of harnesses through the point to point schematics, and use signal/destinations when the drawing gets too busy.

Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-16-2014
Message 8 of 12 (238 Views)

Re: Signal Cross Referencing wire number and destination

01-21-2014 07:52 AM in reply to: geoff.hall

Thanks for the information on the DWGNAM, worked great.  I'm trying to get my section information from "the other side" of the source/dest arrows, but adding %A for section value to the Project/Drawing properties did not add anything to the XREF data.  I added this to the project settings and both drawings I'm trying to use this feature on.  Any ideas?

xref setup.JPG

*Expert Elite*
rhesusminus
Posts: 792
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 9 of 12 (168 Views)

Re: Signal Cross Referencing wire number and destination

02-05-2014 04:03 AM in reply to: jmterlap

Works fine here, using your parameters for the cross-referencing.

 

Capture.PNG

 

Had to update the cross-references for the signals manually once, using the AEUPDATESIGREF command.

 

You are sure you have put something into the Section-field in drawing properties?

 


THL
Please select "Accept As Solution" if this post answers your question. Kudos don't hurt either. ;-)
Valued Contributor
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Message 10 of 12 (103 Views)

Re: Signal Cross Referencing wire number and destination

02-26-2014 03:39 AM in reply to: geoff.hall

any movement on this problem as i want to do almost exactly the same just want the device tag that the arrow is going to sh9wn on a cross reference arrow

 

same frustration there is a setting in other packages why doest autodesk  offer the same  ?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community