AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,177
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 1 of 3 (103 Views)
Accepted Solution

Sequential Comp Tagging, starts over for each Family?

103 Views, 2 Replies
02-14-2014 10:39 AM

New day, new challenge.

 

Still working on setting up P&ID's.  I am putting together my symbol library and adding to the Icon Menu.  Testing as I go.  Wherever possible, I am presetting the "Family" attribute on my symbols.  In my project I have component tagging set to sequential, with a defined start point of 600 for this test drawing (will be based on our process codes).  Format is %F%N.  What I am seeing is that for each new Family value, the %N starts over at 600.  I assume this is intended, but is there any setting that will tell AcadE to go sequential regardless of the Family value?  In a P&ID I don't want to have any duplicate tag numbers unless they are associated as parent child or part of the same instrument loop.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,177
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 3 (74 Views)

Re: Sequential Comp Tagging, starts over for each Family?

02-17-2014 08:58 AM in reply to: cbenner

Looks like I stumped the band on this one.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,177
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 3 of 3 (70 Views)

Re: Sequential Comp Tagging, starts over for each Family?

02-17-2014 11:05 AM in reply to: cbenner

Ok... workaround time.

 

Set the bottom tag to TAG1, and the top tag to INST TYPE, and edit the thing manually with the Edit Miscellaneous button in Component Editor. 

 

Getting tired of workarounds.  This is exhausting.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community