AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
CAD-ICE
Posts: 291
Registered: ‎02-21-2009
Message 1 of 11 (437 Views)

Seperate component tag format for cables...

437 Views, 10 Replies
10-18-2011 10:04 AM

Hi there,

I have a customer who´s requiring that cables in his project are tagged specially based on the application.For instance

All powercables should be tagged "KJ-100, 101, 102....etc..."

All controlcables should be tagged "KJ-200, 201, 202....etc..."

All coommunicationcables should be tagged "KJ-800, 801, 802....etc..."

The KJ is something like the "LOC" replacable parameter and the first digit in the cable number could be the replaceable parameter for the layername for that type of cable as an idea...

Any suggestions kindly appreciated.

Regards, Gary

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 909
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 2 of 11 (413 Views)

Re: Seperate component tag format for cables...

10-20-2011 05:21 PM in reply to: CAD-ICE

First of all, set up different layers for the different types of cables.

 

Next, you need to set up the wire numbering system to have the wires numbered using the layer overrides.

 

Finally in the layer overrides, you can set the prefix to use things like the  LOC, LAYER and so on using replacable parameters.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Distinguished Contributor
CAD-ICE
Posts: 291
Registered: ‎02-21-2009
Message 3 of 11 (399 Views)

Re: Seperate component tag format for cables...

10-21-2011 11:04 AM in reply to: Icemanau

Hello again Brad,

thank´s for replying on my post.

Aren´t you misunderstanding my question. I´m looking for a way to customize the tagname for a certain type of cable and not what you propose wire number, right?

It´s wery common in Europe to tag cables i.e. to external equipment in the field differently than tagging components so that´s why I´m asking if there is a way to tag cables.

Thank´s again, Gary

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 909
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 4 of 11 (385 Views)

Re: Seperate component tag format for cables...

10-23-2011 03:18 PM in reply to: CAD-ICE

There are cable markers available that will insert into cables or wires. They can be found either through the component insert or under the Wires->Cables drop down (2008 version at least).

 

There are also in-line wire labels that can be found in the component insert menu. These have as standard, the normal colour labels as well as one called 'You Type' which allows you to set what you require.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Distinguished Contributor
CAD-ICE
Posts: 291
Registered: ‎02-21-2009
Message 5 of 11 (383 Views)

Re: Seperate component tag format for cables...

10-23-2011 04:34 PM in reply to: Icemanau

Hi again Brad and thank´s for looking into this matter.

Sorry I forgot to mention that I´m using ACADE2012.

If I  insert a standard cable marker block (vW01) the cable marker is automatically tagged according to the component Tag format setup which in my case is set to tag according to %F%S%N (see attached image). This is the general tag format for all components, but what I´m trying to accomplish is to override the general tag format setup for cable markers so to speak such that I can create a seperate setup for automatic tagging of cables. Is this possible?

I´m sorry if I´m not expressing myself clearly enough but I hope that you can follow me now....or maybe I´m not following your explanation on how to get about this?

 

Thank´s again and regards, Gary

 

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 909
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 6 of 11 (379 Views)

Re: Seperate component tag format for cables...

10-23-2011 07:15 PM in reply to: CAD-ICE

In ACADE2008 under Terminals/Connectors in the component menu, there is a sub menu called 'In-Line Wire Labels'.

 

Besides the Standard Colours there is one titled 'You Type'. When you insert this it pops up a dialog box allowing you to fill in whatever information you require. These wire labels do not follow the numbering or tagging system (at least in ACADE2008 they didn't).

 

This would seem to be what you are looking for. The other type of label I mentioned seems to follow component tagging rules.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Distinguished Contributor
CAD-ICE
Posts: 291
Registered: ‎02-21-2009
Message 7 of 11 (365 Views)

Re: Seperate component tag format for cables...

10-24-2011 03:16 AM in reply to: Icemanau

Hi Brad,

I´m sorry to say that the inline labels is not an acceptable solution. I need to be able to tag the cable as one component not as many individuals. We use the cable tags in various reports like cable summary, BOM etc...

I´m sure that there are others out there that have this request....maybe someone at Autodesk can comment on this?

Anyway I really appreciate your effort to help me in this matter.

Thanks again, Gary

Contributor
randybrunette
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 11 (344 Views)

Re: Seperate component tag format for cables...

10-26-2011 01:41 PM in reply to: CAD-ICE

You have several issues we need to address. The first is that you need a unique code format for the component tag, different than the default tag format set for the drawing. Secondly, you require the numbering to change for each cable component type.

 

The toughest problem to solve is that for each cable type, the default family is the same, (CBL for cables), but we need the numbering for each type to restart at 00 and increment. An idea to try is to create a new family style for each type of cable. ACE will then automatically start the component number of each at 00.

 

For the format override, you can add an attribute named "TAGFMT" to each new symbol. The format contained on this attribute overrides the default format set for the drawing. Set the value of the TAGFMT attribute to something like KJ-1%N, KJ-8%N, and so on.

 

I attached some sample blocks that seemed to do what you are asking. I added these to the icon menu by copying an existing cable marker entry and changing the block name to the new ones.

Randy Brunette
Brunette Technologies, LLC
randy.brunette@brutec.us
www.brutec.us
Contributor
randybrunette
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 11 (343 Views)

Re: Seperate component tag format for cables...

10-26-2011 01:42 PM in reply to: randybrunette

I needed a second posting to include an additional two blocks.

Randy Brunette
Brunette Technologies, LLC
randy.brunette@brutec.us
www.brutec.us
Distinguished Contributor
CAD-ICE
Posts: 291
Registered: ‎02-21-2009
Message 10 of 11 (310 Views)

Re: Seperate component tag format for cables...

10-31-2011 12:19 PM in reply to: randybrunette

Hello Randy,

Thank you so much for your great effort to solve this issue I´m dealing with.

I have done some tests with the block´s you have provided and I´m seeing some strange things in behaviour. First of all when inserting by using multiple components ACADE does not automatically offer to flip to child symbols but inserts only the parent symbol? Another strange thing happens which is, that the default component tag format set as %F%S%N tags normal components like for instance a current relay as -KF11 instead as expected as -K11 and a standard cable marker as -WD11 and not -W11 ? This behavior is not repeated on the previous page where I have not inserted your symbol with the TAGFMT attribute?? Could that cause this behaviour ??

I have attached a picture for your information showing this partly.

 

One other question, when inserting your symbols the component is alway´s inserted such that  the symbol inserts vertically as shown on the attached image.

 

Regards, Gary

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community